SAMSUNG LE40M87BDX mapping HDMI to channel buttons

Discussion in 'Samsung TVs Forum' started by tuckeratlarge, Jan 12, 2008.

Tags:
  1. tuckeratlarge

    tuckeratlarge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a SAMSUNG LE40M87BDX and I want to map the HDMI inputs to the channel buttons on the remote. As in button 0 for HMDI 2 and button 9 to HDMI 1

    So I would have it like this....

    1. BBC 1
    2. BBC 2
    .
    .
    .
    9. HDMI 1 (Xbox 360)
    0. HDMI 2 (DVD Recorder/SKY)

    Then I don't have to fanny about with remote for the TV I can just use the sky remote to select the channel I want.

    Thanks
     
  2. fingers mcginty

    fingers mcginty
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is this possible?...that would be so handy!
     
  3. sdu1975

    sdu1975
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    889
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +18
    I've an F86 and if possible would be cool:thumbsup:
     
  4. badbob

    badbob
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +318
    Or you could just buy a remote with discrete input functions- considering you've just spent £1000 on a TV another £100 on a quality remote that'll replace all your others, plus having discretes is worth it.
     
  5. tuckeratlarge

    tuckeratlarge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you recommend?

    discretes?
     
  6. badbob

    badbob
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +318
    I know the URC MX-850 has discrete codes for this TV, as I have that combo myself. Not sure about Pronto line. On the URC database there are discretes for

    DTV
    Air
    HDMI 1, 2 & 3
    SCART 1 & 2
    Component
    VGA
    S-Video
    16:9 and 4:3
    Power on and Power off

    Discrete IR codes are specific to that command, ie rather than you doing INPUT-INPUT-INPUT-INPUT to reach VGA, just press VGA button on the remote. Or have a macro, so for "Play Xbox" you have

    TV power on
    AV amp input #1 - Xbox
    Delay of 10 seconds (for the TV to switch on)
    TV VGA

    So you don't have to do a thing. No need to fiddle with your amp and TV remote, pressing 3 buttons on two remotes.
     
  7. tuckeratlarge

    tuckeratlarge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great - thanks for the info, I will look into this universal remote stuff.

    But hey, anyone got an answer for my original question?
     

Share This Page

Loading...