Samsung LE32M86BD help

Discussion in 'Samsung TVs Forum' started by Sk1d, Jan 14, 2008.

Tags:
  1. Sk1d

    Sk1d
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all

    Im in need of some help. I have recently purchased the above LCD and upon connecting it to my PS3 am very dissapointed. The games dont look very sharp at all.

    The PS3 menu is very nice, running at 1920x1080i but when I fire up for example COD4 (supports 1080i) the resolution drops to 1280x720. :thumbsdow

    Have I missed a setup trick? is this normal? How do I make the games run at 1080i?

    Thanks

    Sk1d
     
  2. Lewis123

    Lewis123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Shoreham-by-sea
    Ratings:
    +52
    Some games only run at 720p (1280x720). It says on the back of the case which resolutions the game supports.
     
  3. Sk1d

    Sk1d
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Lewis

    Thanks for the reply but as stated in my original post the game says it supports 1080i
     
  4. adama1980

    adama1980
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm pretty sure that COD 4 for ps3 doesn't even actually render at full 720p (I think it's 1024 x 600p)

    It says it's running on my M87 at 1920 x 1080p with no issues.

    Do you have up to date firmware on the ps3? I know there were issues with upscaling in earlier firmwares
     
  5. Sk1d

    Sk1d
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure how do i find out?

    Software version is 1.94
     
  6. adama1980

    adama1980
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    newest version is 2.10 which includes some pretty cool things like divx playback etc.

    My advice would be to put your ps3 online (even just to update) and then try the game again?

    IF you have a wireless network or even wired router, should be a doddle to set up

    You can also download the update and cioy it to a memory card or external HD from your PC

    Guide is here: http://www.us.playstation.com/PS3/About/SystemUpdate/pc_update.html#update_PC
     
  7. Sk1d

    Sk1d
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, i'll give that a quick go cheers
     
  8. Sk1d

    Sk1d
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No joy, any ideas anyone
     
  9. adama1980

    adama1980
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    you could try changing your HDMI video settings so that the only output option is 1080i?

    i think that may force it to upscale- unlike the 360, the ps3 seems to prefer either 720p or 1080p and doesn't necessarily scale the picture if not.

    There's an article from a while ago here about the issue....

    http://www.joystiq.com/2006/12/06/ps3-firmware-1-30-fixes-1080i-problem/

    I thought they'd fixed it but they may not have.

    Have you set your tv to optimal settings? that will make a load bigger difference than getting the image from the ps3 upscaled.
     
  10. nilselling

    nilselling
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have an 52" M8 and it works like a charm with PS3. Have you checked the BD/DVD Settings in the Setup menu on the PS3? Make sure that that HDMI supports all up to 1080p. PS3 games is as far as I know in 720p. Run 720p and stay away from the Interlaced (1080i) picture when running PS3-games coded in High Defenition. Also it sounds like you need to make som adjustments to your panel. Hope this help
     
  11. Sk1d

    Sk1d
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you mean adjustments to my panel?
     
  12. Sk1d

    Sk1d
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thought i'd give this a little bump
     
  13. adama1980

    adama1980
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    adjustments are just the settings - ie sharpness should be down to between 10 & 30 and there are a lot of tweaks to get a far better picture.

    As for the games, I was reading that most play at either 720p or 1080p - you should keep away from 1080i due to blur etc
     
  14. psyche101

    psyche101
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have this TV & definetly reccomend 720p over 1080i for gaming
     

Share This Page

Loading...