Samsung LE32D400 Media Player

Discussion in 'Samsung TVs Forum' started by bluesmirnoff, Sep 12, 2011.

Tags:
  1. bluesmirnoff

    bluesmirnoff
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    A friend has just bought a Samsung LE32D400 TV from E-buyer, it was advertised with identical specs to my own LE32D450, however on testing it, he found the media player only offered to open photos or music files from the USB, however my 450 also opens movie files, this is a feature that he needs. So my question is, does anybody know of an update or unlock, to add in movie file playback ?

    In searching Samsung's site, the LE32D400 is not listed at all, under the 4 series page it only lists the 450, and I can find very little mention of it anywhere else, other than various retailers, or the dutch Samsung site, many of the retailers advertise USB movie file playing ability (including E-Buyer), we suspect the info is just a copy and paste of the 450's details and not the genuine spec. Can anyone help out ?
     
  2. Tr1xx

    Tr1xx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought a 32" Samsung LE32D400 TV last month from Richer Sounds in the UK, (full model code LE32D400E1WXXU). I can confirm that I have tried three random files but it totally refuses to recognise AVI files on a Kingston 2GB USB memory stick. Very disappointing to say the least. It identifies and plays JPEG images and mp3 music files absolutely perfectly incidentally, (but so what? Doesn't every TV nowadays).

    I registered the product on Samsung's web site and logged a query regarding whether the currently available firmware upgrade (that I found quite easily on Samsung's site) will address this deficiency. Being honest, I don't expect success. Depending upon the outcome of my query, I intend to post this issue on Amazon and any other relevant user review sites I find to warn prospective purchasers. I will also advise Richer Sounds to update their description.

    There is a kludge of course; play AVI movies through your DVD player IF IT HAS ONE !
     
  3. sotv

    sotv
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    205
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +26
    Can you confirm your Samsung LE32D450 plays from an NTFS formatted ext hdd and plays mkv files with DTS audio tracks as the LG I have tried doesn't like the DTS audio track part of my backup files, and I am looking for a TV that can play these files, for kiddies xmas present. Ta
     
  4. Arale

    Arale
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any luck yet with customer support? I've just bought the same Samsung model and feel VERY unhappy about the lack of video format supported! I was wondering if it would be of any use to register the product and post the same query you did...
     
  5. lionelbart

    lionelbart
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I purchased this TV in November and was also under the impression that you could play movies on it. I contacted SAMSUNG UK and they explained that this model wasn't able to play movies, just view pictures and play music. I was dissapointed but just went and purchased an incredisonic media player for £19 from amazon.co.uk. Problem solved!!!! :) Its a pain when like its advertised all of the place as having allshare movies and I did buy this model on the strength of its media cababilities and then it turns out to be LIES!!!!!!!!!!! lol

    cheers :)
     
  6. alejokdj

    alejokdj
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi there, maybe this helps you i done it on my LE32C350 and it worked, the only difference is you should change LE32D400 by LE32D450 and should work with any series 3, 4, 5:

    WARNING! Any operation on your TV needs to be done knowing exactly what to do. Each operation (allowed or not) must be made under your exclusive responsibility.

    The solution to enable the viewing of films via the USB LE32C350 model is as follows: with the tv in stand by mode, access to technical menu with the key sequence (from remote) INFO + MENU + MUTE + STANDBY + OK (in rapid sequence) and to change the parameter MODEL in LC360. Now Go back to the original display with the RETURN key (the remote) and turn off the TV. When power will show the option of the Media Play Video with audio in perfect working order! Enjoy! ^ __ ^

    Please if someone has tried wiv the LE32D400 and works please let me know because im thinking to buy one ;)
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2012
  7. Niccolo

    Niccolo
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    From the service menu I changed the model on my LE32D400E, setting it to LD450 (LE32D450). Now the Downloads menu has Videos, Photos and Music.

    Thanks!
     
  8. alejokdj

    alejokdj
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thank u for the confirmation! I will get a D400, I was almost sure that was gonna work!
     
  9. Tr1xx

    Tr1xx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    A follow-up to my post from 6 months ago, (concerning the 32" Samsung LE32D400) after I read the recent posts by alejokdj and Niccolo...

    To begin with, I would recommend upgrading the TV firmware before even attempting to change any "Service Menu" settings. I got the LE32D400 firmware from Samsung website (release date 7 Nov 2011). incidentally. You need to transfer the data via a USB stick. Be warned, you will probably have to re-tune, etc., etc., afterwards. This upgrade is all perfectly innocent and straightforward. After you've completed the process and you are sure everything works after a full TV "reboot" sequence you can proceed to the next stage. This process is definitely NOT for the squeamish however. You can brick your TV. Honest. In fact, I probably shouldn't even post this here, but I just want to clarify what I did personally. You're an adult and reposible for your own actions.

    BE EXTREMELY CAREFUL IF YOU ACCESS THE SERVICE MENU. :devil: I was careless, screwed up the settings and wasted 3 hours returning the TV to normal. I was lucky (some people have rendered their TV useless, or at least had to return it to a Samsung service centre). I believe it also invalidates your warranty too; they can tell you've been tinkering.

    As previously stated, to access the Service Menu you should have the TV in standby mode, (ie switch it off using the remote). In quick succession, press "info" > "menu" > "mute" > "power" then "return" (this may be superfluous). You should see the Service Menu after a brief delay. From here on you are skating on thin ice. Ideally you should write down all the settings you can see here, in case you need to revert; don't do what I do, but do what I say! Under no circumstances should you press "Factory Reset" !!! My settings got totally screwed up and the TV displayed an inverted, garbled, almost fluorescent screen image, but I will describe how I eventually succeeded...

    Select "Option" & scroll down. I believe there's only two settings that really need changing. After wasting hours with my head upside down (true), I eventually selected Type = 32A6AH0C and Model = LD450. You can press "Return" to get back to the previous screen but there is no "Save" option. Once you've changed a setting, that's it ... there's no going back to what was there originally (so far as I can see). That's why I suggest writing down everything. I Googled this model but couldn't find a list of the recommended settings anywhere. I suppose that's what TV service manuals are for. To continue, once you're sure you have made the relevant changes, you can proceed. As I said, there's no save option, but when you press "Return" on the remote (and can't go back further), simply press the red power button to commit changes.

    After restarting the TV, I was successfully able to access and play AVI files from USB. OK, it took a lot of time and heartache but I feel it was worth it. I hope this is of benefit to others. Incidentally, it's possible that other settings may also work. Any further posts here may be of interest. Good luck everyone.
     
  10. Lobart

    Lobart
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have accesed the service menu on my Samsung LE32D400, but Im not able to move up down or w/e with any keys, im only able to press power. What's the problem?
     
  11. e01

    e01
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1 on LE32D400E1W
    Now I am able to play video files, also supports subtitles (.srt and .sub files) can changing theire charset encodings, adjust size, its kewl. Also supports and HD formats.
    Thanks for the pointing @alejokdj
     
  12. snitch

    snitch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can somebody who changed the model of a LE32D400 TV answer me to a question? Do the touch-sensitive buttons from the frame of the TV still work after changing the model of the TV to D450? I read somewhere that in some cases (D5003) those buttons become nonfunctional after the change of the model and even restoring the model to default doesn't solve the problem. Thanks in advance for your answers!
    P.S. Please excuse my poor English.
     
  13. e01

    e01
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine works pretty fine.
    Actually I am not noticed some bugs, all is okay, except the "composite" and "pc" input that apearing in the source and have no such outputs in the back but this is expected :D

    However I am happy that have video player, last night i was watching the matrix movies on HD :thumbsup:
     
  14. Tr1xx

    Tr1xx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also confirm the front panel buttons (appear to) work fine on my LE32D400 after changing the "Service Menu" settings to Model = LD450 as I described previously. It may be imagination, but the channel change buttons MAY be more sensitive than previous, but this may just be my imagination. To reiterate, be VERY careful if you do use the "Service Menu".
     
  15. e01

    e01
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seems that I have same imagination too :D however, I am using the remote controller, I am touched the buttons only once, on the first day when bough the tv, just to test what they do :D
     
  16. instinktfussbal

    instinktfussbal
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    great! now i can use the le32d400 as a 450 with mediaplayer. thanks a lot... but there is one problem: can you tell me how i can pause/stop the movies?
    thanks a lot
     
  17. dardar

    dardar
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone still have the original service menu settings for the LE32D400?
    I need to set mine so I can fix a problem with the HDMI ports.
     
  18. Cilus

    Cilus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    me 2 i need the original service menu settings for LE32D400 :( please help :love:
     
  19. Alexela

    Alexela
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    can you tell me please how to make the touck bottons work again? what code i need? (i did a factory reset) for model LE32D400E1W...
     
  20. humzahumour

    humzahumour
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can put pictures of my settings for the LC32D400
    that is if either of you would like it. Keep in mind the type of the TV has been changed. To add video playbak
     
  21. Cilus

    Cilus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    please post the photos if you can....:) thx
     
  22. humzahumour

    humzahumour
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi sorry for the month late reply these are the pictures you've requested.

    For clarification sake
    The sticker on my TV says the following
    Model: LE32D400E1W
    Model code: LE32D400E1WXXU
    Type no: LE32D400

    Photo 1 is the first screen of the service menu

    *Look at the top left corner of the rest of the photos. "Main: ?????"
    The ????? corresponds to the option I've selected from Picture 1*

    Photo 2 (original) are the original settings of the "Option" screen
    Photo 2 (changed) are the changed settings which allowed me to get video playback from my USB
    Photo 3 is the original settings of the "Control" screen
    Photo 4 is the original settings of the "SVC" screen
    Photo 5 the original settings of the "ADC/WB" screen
    Photo 6 is the same as photo 1 (mostly) I cannot enter into the Advanced settings screen.

    Hope this helps. Once again sorry for the extremely late reply
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Cilus

    Cilus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thx very much for the photos...it was perfect if you had access to the hidden menu...i think theres is my problem...
     
  24. andyblue72

    andyblue72
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    does anyone have original service menu settings for samsung le32d400e1w,type le32d400,messed about with adc/wb results and did not keep originals would be much obliged if anyone can help cheers
     
  25. macten10

    macten10
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i need all picture's of the Service Menu because my HDMI doesn't use :(
    can somebody help?
     
  26. Aesthetic

    Aesthetic
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1 on using UD5800. Thanks guys!
     
  27. Bukitbhuru

    Bukitbhuru
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just tried the instructions given by alejokdj for playing AVI files and they worked first time!

    Just one question, how the hell did he work out how to do this ?
    Also, why wasn't it already done in the factory?
     
  28. Bukitbhuru

    Bukitbhuru
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheaperv TV??
     
  29. Reflected

    Reflected
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi.

    I've registered just to thank you for the instructions.

    Now my grandparent ld32d400 is able to play movies.

    Your guide worked perfectly.

    Thank you very much!!!!
     
  30. BrunoSlivar

    BrunoSlivar
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    croatia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone help me? I try to change on my samsung tv from le32d400e to 450. But i dont have on list 450. I need that to watch video
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2016

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice