1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Samsung LE32A41B

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by mickbarlow, Jan 27, 2005.

  1. mickbarlow

    mickbarlow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I cant find any reviews anywhere, so is any good person willing to do a short piece of what this product can and cant do?

    pcmcis and ursinho , i know youve both got one, so go guys:smashin:

    many thanks
     
  2. pcmcis

    pcmcis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    This is big but there are too many things to say! (Sorry for my English)

    LE-32A41 my first LCD TV.
    Completely blind buy! Never seen it, just bought it. Moved to a new house and wanted a LCD TV.
    After reviewing many models and was going to buy a Philips 30'' your list came up ''HDTV LCD's'' and the nightmare began!
    I've got a friend working in a store. Asked him for a LCD TV 30'' - 32'' with DVI for 2.500€.
    He said ''Just received a new 32'' set from SAMSUNG for 2.000€ what do you think?''
    Review, manual, demo. But there were no review, no manual, no demo.
    Why I bought it? Because it's 32'' with DVI, looks nice and finally got it for 1.890€!

    Last Friday picked it up my self from the store. That was a really big box!
    Went home, removed the old 21'' TV, cleaned the furniture that was going to host my new baby,
    took a big breath and opened the box.
    OMG!!!!! from this point, no words just a big smile!
    Moved it from the box and gently placed it on the furniture. 2 connections were important at that moment, Power and Antenna.
    Went on the couch, took a cigarette and pressed the power button.
    There was a power on melody and then on the screen ''Plug and Play'' That looks familiar!!!!
    You need to select:Country,language, set time, and your input type, Antenna,Cable,or SAT.(I think it was SAT)
    Then an automatic scan is performed giving you time to ask your self again ''Isn't that the most beautiful thing I have ever seen? Yep, it sure is!''
    The scan takes some time but the outcome is very good. Didn't have to fine tune not even one channel.
    Then you have to sort the channels. That part was fun! Enter the menu and see the list with the channels. Select the channel you want, move it right, then up or down to the number you prefer. Then again move it left and you are done!

    Inputs: TV, 2xscart, Video, S-video,DVI, PC(D-sub).
    Audio inputs: Video and S-video share the same audio RCA inputs, DVI has it's own RCA and PC has a mini jack you can connect your soundcard without having to convert it to RCA.
    Outputs: 2xscart and headphones. I wanted my receiver to handle the sound and the only way I found was via scart. Used a Scart to RCA cable (1for video and 2x for audio) witch it worked although you get pure sound without the great EQ and SRS adjustments.

    I would like first to say something about the build in sound. Amazing!! 5band EQ, SRS WOW that really works (made me look back several times searching for a speaker) clear sound and if you need deep sound bellow 100Hz Surprise! You got a sub out, were you can connect a sub! Options for this: volume and cut off frequency with many steps.

    Picture. Now this is something interesting.
    Let me begin with the picture options.
    Auto wide,wide,panorama,zoom1,zoom 2 and 4:3.
    You get all these in TV mode. Depending on the input you select you get the needed options
    PIP but only one tuner. You can use it with any other input.
    I'm not using SAT or Cable just old fashioned Antenna feed. I was expecting the image to be bad but it's not.
    using right now my internal antenna I can say I'm happy with the image. Strong channels are great but can't say that weak channels are terrible. I think it all comes to the way you adjust your set. Too much contrast, incorrect sharpen settings and brightness at the wrong level will make it terrible. Even though it's been a week I didn't have time to make the final picture adjustment. Yesterday I was watching Ice-Skating and had to adjust brightness and disable DNIe. There were more details on the ice that I could handle but the move of the athlete was nice detailed with very good reaction to moving picture.
    I will need some time to get used to this 32'' Screen. I'm rather close (3 meters) and used to have 21'' screen before. Everything is large and the eyes need time for that kind of change.

    In PC mode you will have no problem adjusting the picture the way you want. You can move the image up,down,left,right, play with contrast and brightness but there
    is always the ''Auto adjust'' option that does a great job.
    Remember! you can use only the VGA cable (D-sub) @1360x768 at 60Hz. Watching your system booting and switching through modes until the windows desktop appears is fun. The image is always in full screen and within the borders in all modes witch makes it great to work even if adjusting your PC's bios without having to move the image left or right every time.
    Gaming is excellent! Tried NFSU2 at 1024x768 (a little bit stretched but ok with me) and FarCry at 1360x768! Awesome! Not stretched, full screen image.
    I think I will try Flight sim real soon.
    Tried to use PC DVI to DVI. You get dos prompt, booting logo and then nothing. Didn't try it again but something tells me with the correct setting I should see something.

    DVI=Excellent. Connected to my Yamakawa 375 DVD (witch I got cause it has an unlocked DVI port, play's everything and it's cheep) the image is amazing!
    Found the best image at 720p@50 witch is not officially supported! (proof is included in the images bellow)
    DNIe makes a difference but isn't always needed. While watching TV some times it gives more detail that you can handle!
    With DVD's is great. Look at the picture that Demo is on. The difference is obvious!

    About the pictures:
    1)The furniture is 2 meters long
    2)pictures can't give the actual image quality that this screen is capable of.
    3)Download size 5,4Mb.
    4)yes I'm from Greece.
    5) http://s26.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=24CJT6515P6MA1H7ZHD1T1OVXB it will be there for a few days. SAMSUNG.zip

    Overall a beautiful TV, great for the money, good picture and amazing sound at least for me.
    Always demo before buying. For me it's ok without having previous experience with LCD TV's.

    Please let me know if you need more specific details. I will try to get more pictures.

    pcmcis
     
  3. eddie_talbot

    eddie_talbot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that superb review pcmcis! It's a gorgeous looking set. I particularly like the black borders around the panel and the silver parts kept to the edges - too many TVs tend to overdose on silver and I've never been a fan of that.

    It's very tempting and the price tag of about 1300GBP is palatable for a 32" set.

    Only thing it hasn't got is an inbulilt DVB-tuner but when you can buy an external box for £50 who cares !!

    I expect the interest in this set to be fairly high.
     
  4. Dazzle

    Dazzle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
  5. eddie_talbot

    eddie_talbot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. Damian1978

    Damian1978
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,496
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Fleetwood, Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +265
    Hi,

    This set sounds quite good and is now available from Argos (in case its a duffer :laugh: ).

    Does it have component video in?

    Thanks
     
  7. tomasn

    tomasn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am also planning on buying this LCD-TV and I am interested in all types of comments that owners of it might have. If you own this TV please take your time to write a few rows here explaining what you like and do not like about it.
     
  8. peahead

    peahead
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +282
    Dont think it has component input just dvi
     
  9. Damian1978

    Damian1978
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,496
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Fleetwood, Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +265
    Ack poo!

    :(
     
  10. peahead

    peahead
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +282
    You can get the instruction manual from one of the samsungs europeon websites and they dont show component inputs just two scarts d-sub and dvi the us version however has two sets of component inputs as that is what they use. thats what put me of it to.
     
  11. lcd_newbie

    lcd_newbie
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey mate, could you please do us a favor and upload the file again. Unfortunately it gets delete after 25 downloads or 7 days and it looks like your file was quite popular ;)
    http://s26.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=24CJT6515P6MA1H7ZHD1T1OVXB
    Any updates on your Samsung LE32A41B? Still happy with it?
    Do you use PIP at all? Anyone used it with a twin receiver to check PIP?
    How many years warranty do you get from Samsung or the reseller? 24 months or more?

    Thanks much for answering the above
     
  12. mickbarlow

    mickbarlow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    great review pcmcis,

    whats the problem with the pc input through dvi, does it not work at all? what video card do you have and have your tried playing with it yet?
     
  13. pcmcis

    pcmcis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    New link: http://s16.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=3S9GG5GKOGCZ90Q77VOO122J95

    Now that I got used to this size difference (used to have 21'') I'm very happy.
    Warranty is 2 years. 3 dead pixels and up are supported by Samsung even though the store were I bought it said 1dead pixel !? (no dead pixels yet)
    PIP is handy and I mostly use it while playing games and my girlfriend asks me all the time if her favorite show is on or not!
    Tried HL2 at 1360x768 and was blown away! Will get some pictures.

    Personally I'm very happy. Always depending on what you are looking for.
    I know that it will serve me well for a few years. Things are always changing and always get better and better.
    (example) In 2007 they say that OLED screens will be announced. Thinner, faster, less power consumption and more.
    What will I do then when this technology will be old! Say that ''I need to have one of these'' and throw away my 4000€ TV!
    Many friends warn me not to by a TV right now cause it's not the right time. Me, I only new I wanted a 32'' LCD TV. Made my choice and got this baby.
    Anyway that's my thinking right now.

    Again, review and demo before buying something. What is good for me, can be bad for you!

    Thanks
    pcmcis
     
  14. pcmcis

    pcmcis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    mickbarlow

    I have a 5700U, latest official Nvidia drivers and winxp pro sp1.
    Connected to DVI does the following:
    Dos prompt ok. Not centered but I have picture.
    Windows boot logo ok.
    When the windows welcome screen is about to appear I get nothing.
    Seems like I'm using incorrect display settings, I hope!

    I will give it a try again today and let you know.

    pcmcis
     
  15. mickbarlow

    mickbarlow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    must be a refresh rate issue, i know when i connect my 17 tft via dvi to my ATI radeon 9600, it defaults to 85hz which i doubt an LCD display will cope with.
     
  16. jbm

    jbm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks pcmcis for a great review!

    I am also thinking of buying this Samsung basically for it's realtion features/price.

    One very important thing to me is the PC connection through DVI. In the manual says it is not supported, but I really hope this is not true...like the non support of 720p50.

    I also have a Yamakawa375 and it is good to know they work together both fine:)

    Hope you can get it to work and let us know!

    Regards,
    Jorge
     
  17. pcmcis

    pcmcis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Tested yesterday and DVI works. :clap:
    I was just too stupid leaving connected both the DVI and VGA ports at the same time. :oops:
    It was detected at 1280x720. Font size and detail was fine but the windows desktop size was bigger than the TV screen.
    You know, part of the image on every side was outside the screen.
    I really won't use DVI connection with my PC but will try with PowerStrip and share the outcome.
    Funny thing is that Nvidia driver detected Samsung's higher resolution as 19xxX1080 (xx= I don't remember the correct numbers)
    I did try that res ,got image but the screen was not stable. Also TV's info detected both times the correct res.

    Let's see.....
     
  18. jbm

    jbm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's is ver NICE :thumbsup:

    What if you try 1024x768, won't it get perfect?

    The image with DVI connection must be considerably better having in mind that there is no need for Digital do Analog and A/D conversions...

    In my Fujitsu Siemens P19A at work I tried both with the regular VGA connection and with DVI and I can see the difference, even though I can get higher refresh rates with the analog, in some situations I can see it is more "unstable"....

    But you are right, it is a big trouble changing the DVI form the DVD to the PC all the time....it should have 2 :laugh:

    Thank you, I think I am almost decided on buying the same screen, just wait a month more for more € :rolleyes:

    Regards,
    Jorge
     
  19. mickbarlow

    mickbarlow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    do you mean the desktop didnt quite fit on the display?

    My dad gets the same problem on his Panny AE700 Projector, but that has a native resolution of 1280x720 not 1366x768.

    Is the picture DEFINATLY perfect 1:1 pixel mapped?
     
  20. pcmcis

    pcmcis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I will share pictures tomorrow using VGA and DVI connection.
     
  21. hrmes

    hrmes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you satisfied with the level of black from this TV, and does this TV perform well in fast moving scenes ?
    I'm also from Greece. If you live in Athens can you say where you bought that TV from ?
     
  22. ifx

    ifx
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't find any specs regarding response time of the panel of this lcd tv? Is ti 8ms?

    thankx
     
  23. hrmes

    hrmes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whenever the response time is mentioned for this set it is 16ms.
     
  24. pcmcis

    pcmcis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    @hrmes

    Yep, I live in Athens and bought it from PadioAthinai.
    About the speed on fast moving scenes I can ''It depends''.
    I realized that it's not only the TV but also the channel.
    example: Say you are watching one of our strong channels. The picture is great.
    Frequently there are passing messages from the right to the left. Some of them are perfectly displayed and some of
    them can't be read at all! What is happening? The TV is changing reaction time! No way.
    I can say that playing games or watching DVD movies you will have no problem.

    I was thinking if you are close to the V.P.(hope you understand this) of Athens we could meet for a coffee at and test it together.

    Have also a few more pic's.VGA_DVI 4.5mb
    http://s22.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=2ZL5WX7ZXD2IS06G381AKSWJTR

    DVI still has a few issues that I will describe maybe tomorrow.
    Now I need to get back home and get some rest. ;)
     
  25. Yaka

    Yaka
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,680
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +114
    that looks like 1:1 map to me.


    whats the different#ce between Samsung LE32A41BX and Samsung LE32A41B ?
     
  26. hrmes

    hrmes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    V.P. doesn't ring a bell... sorry, I live at Ano Patissia. Thanks for the offer but hearing about that 'passing messages' glitch really ruined my enthusiasm about this TV. It seems that it's response time isn't terribly fast.
     
  27. mickbarlow

    mickbarlow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    aye that looks pretty much spot on, cheers pcmcis.

    now if ya could just go and buy a radeon 9600se and if it works with that please :smashin:

    i think this will be the display i buy as soon as i find one at a decent price, unbeatable.co.uk seems to be the cheapest at the min, but thye have none in stock.
     
  28. Yaka

    Yaka
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,680
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +114
  29. ursinho

    ursinho
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Guys,
    i want to add my experiences with this Samsung Lcd set connected via DVI to a Samsung HD935 DVD player. This player has a DCDi Faroudja scaler and two buttons on the front panel are for sets three different DVI VIDEO outputs at different resolutions (lights red, blu and green) and PROGRESSIVE/ INTERLACED.
    So my first and only sets is DVI VIDEO (lights blu and the output is 1080i 50 Hz).
    Pressing the INFO button on the remote control during a dvd play, a windows will appears on the left of the screen showing info like: Source, Screen Mode (Wide, Auto, 4:3...) and 1920 x 1080i 50Hz resolution. I tryed all the Samsung DVD Player possible resolutions (480p, 576i and p, 720p and 1080i 50/60Hz. All are recognized and works without problems.

    The DCDi Faroudja upscaled quality image at 1920 x 1080 is superb.
    As i wrote in other place in this forum, the image quality at 1920 x 1080 looks better than 720 x 1280. Not so different but better. And i can't imagine why this difference, considering this lcd display is HD Ready but not HD Native (Full 1920 x 1080).


    So setting DVD HD935 player at 1920 x 1080i surely the lcd scale the image at another capable resolution but i think it isn't 720 x 1280 because there is differences i said.

    I played this DVD:

    Lord of The Ring 1,2,3 SEE
    Spiderman 1 and 2 SE
    Hannibal SE
    Moulin Rouge SE
    Black Hawk Down
    Star Wars II
    The Day After Tomorrow
    007 Day Another Day
    Van Helsing
    Chronicles of Riddick
    Hulk
    Tomb Raider 2
    X-Men 2

    Never seen nothig like this in dvd format scaled at 1920 x 1080i

    And this isn't the maximum quality of this lcd display

    I can't try to imagine how will be this display showing HD native channels or DVD-HD/Blu Ray supports or next generation game consoles (PS3 and Xbox 2)
    I'm thinking to buy a Quali Tv receiver :)

    Ah...let me say about Brightness Sensor:
    When it was ON, during dvd play sometimes the screen shows image alternately more or less brightness flashing slightly at the distance of two or three seconds. This brightness changes are not simples to see but i switched OFF Brightness Sensor and all it's ok.

    I tested the dispay using "THX Optimizer" utility in "Star Wars II" and i found BTB (Black then Black) and (White Then White) levels optimized settings according to AFDigitale italian magazine.

    This is a really HD Ready great set
     
  30. hrmes

    hrmes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ursinho, pcmcis mentioned that sometimes scrolling text wasn't readable with this TV. Have you experienced something like that ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...