Samsung inbuilt freeview help

Discussion in 'Samsung TVs Forum' started by thedon_1, Jan 4, 2007.

Tags:
  1. thedon_1

    thedon_1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I have ordered a samusng R73 and it has inbuilt freeview, but just wanted some info on it.

    Does it have a planner and stuff, sort of like sky digitals?

    Also, i can;t hook it up to a proper outside arieal, i have a small areial that i can put beside the Tv, would this be sufficient to get a decent picture?

    thanks
     
  2. thedon_1

    thedon_1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Anyone/
    Someone here must have used the freeview on a samsung
     
  3. thedon_1

    thedon_1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Sorry double post
     
  4. richiec77

    richiec77
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    184
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Singapore
    Ratings:
    +17
    It will show what's on all day and you can have it remind you when something comes on you wanna watch.

    Using an inside aerial that sits next to your TV will not be up to the task of receiving a decent digital signal. Better invest setup an outside aerial.
     
  5. MaryJane

    MaryJane
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    It comes with an EPG (electronic programme guide) which tells you what's on and allows you to "reserve" future programmes (similar to sky).

    Reception/Signal strength is dependant on your location, not the
    TV. If you already have a digi/freeview box the signal strength should be the same for your new TV.

    I can use a coat hanger and get a decent signal, but that's because I live in London.

    If you don't know whether you can get freeview:

    http://www.freeview.co.uk/availability
     
  6. thedon_1

    thedon_1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    yes i am also in london.

    I currently have a bog standard old school ariel which i was using a long time ago, just put it on top of the old set.

    I have seen these other ariels at john lewis, they say all in 1, and look pretty hi tech, but do they offer any increased signal strength?
     

Share This Page

Loading...