Samsung HT-C450 surround set-up HELP

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by ozzmosiz, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. ozzmosiz

    ozzmosiz
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My missus just bought me a Samsung HT-C450 surround system.
    It has the 5 speakers all connected to a DVD unit. We already have a blu-ray.
    The blu-ray only has 1 USB which is connected to the TV.
    Both the TV (Samsung D6530), Blu-ray and DVD have optical input.

    How would I get the Blu-Ray and TV to play sound throught the DVD surround system??
     
  2. mentm

    mentm
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +466
    Problem is you only have one optical. You can use this to connect either your tv or bluray to your surround sound.
     
  3. ozzmosiz

    ozzmosiz
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi mentm, thanks for replying. I have plugged an optical cable directly from the TV into the DVD player (which has the surround sound speakers connected into it). I then changed the TV sound to "external speakers" - no sound comes out.
    I also tried plugging it into the bluray instead of the TV - again, no sound! Arghhhh!
    any ideas?
     
  4. mentm

    mentm
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +466
    Have you selected the correct input on your dvd player?
     
  5. ozzmosiz

    ozzmosiz
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only audio settings on the DVD are:

    DRC: Off
    AV-SYNC: 0 msec
    HDMI Audio: Off
    EQ Optimzer: On
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2012
  6. mentm

    mentm
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +466
    It's not a menu option there is normally a source button on the remote.
     
  7. ozzmosiz

    ozzmosiz
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    mentm, I have a "Functon TV Source" button but that's it for "source" buttons.
     
  8. mentm

    mentm
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +466
    Ok from the manual then.

    OPTICAL : Connecting an External Digital Component
    Digital signal components such as a Cable Box/Satellite receiver (Set-Top Box).
    Connect the DIGITAL AUDIO IN (OPTICAL) on the back of the product to the Digital Output of the
    external digital component.
    Press the FUNCTION button to select D.IN.
    The mode switches as follows :
    DVD/CD ➞ D.IN ➞ AUX ➞ USB ➞ FM.


    So press the function button until it says D.IN on the front.
     
  9. ozzmosiz

    ozzmosiz
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    mentm, half way there.
    I set the DVD to "D In" as suggested and now I get sound through the left and right front speakers and the base speaker.
    Still no sound from the back left and right or the center speaker (though I am hearing a mild static from them). Any ideas and thanks once again.
    I've confirmed the back speakers do work by plugging them into the front speakers cables and sound comes through. So it seems its the DVD player not sending the signal to all speaker outputs.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2012
  10. mentm

    mentm
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +466
    As you are listening to a stereo source you need to enable a surround sound mode such as dolby prologic to use the other speakers.
     
  11. ozzmosiz

    ozzmosiz
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    mentm, you are a genius :clap: it is now working perfectly.
    I really appreciate your help and patience :smashin:

    Happy new year to you and many thanks.
    Ozz
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice