Quantcast

Samsung HDMI black level setting - explanation required

BigBlue007

Novice Member
WARNING: Lots of text, and I'm not even sure whether I'm able to explain clearly enough what I'm trying to say. :)

I am new to the world of Samsung TVs (F8000). It's the first TV I own that allows a manual selection of the HDMI colorspace. Since I like to understand things, I tried to figure out what option stands for what, but all I found is confusion so far.

According to my searches, most folks say that the "Normal" setting is for Video-Levels (16-235), while "Low" is for PC-Levels (0-255). Some other folks say it's the other way around.

I did some research using some of my external HDMI sources (Dreambox STB, Apple TV, PS3). The Dreambox uses Video-Levels (16-235). The Apple-TV allows to choose between YCbCr (which is always 16-235), RGB with limited 16-235 range, and RGB with full 0-255 range. The same is true for the PS3, where you can choose between YCbCr and RGB for video playback, and for RGB you can choose between limited and full range RGB.

Now here's what I found so far: When I set Apple TV or PS3 to YCbCr, the Samsung's HDMI blacklevel option defaults to "Normal", and it is greyed-out. Once I set Apple TV or PS3 to RGB output, the Samsung defaults to "Low", but now the option can be toggled between "Low" and "Normal".

Based on this finding, I was under the impression that "Normal" must be 16-235 (because any source device that outputs YCbCr uses the 16-235 range), and "Low" must be 0-255.