1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Samsung HD950 HDMI - Sharp LC32GA4E DVI, but what about sound?

Discussion in 'TVs' started by olly_spalding76, Aug 2, 2005.

1. olly_spalding76

olly_spalding76

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    This topic goes across a number of different forum areas, but hopefully this is an appropriate place.

I'm quite new to the world of AV technology and a probably simply issue has left me scratching my head...

I recently purchased the Samsung HD950 to take advantage of the Sharp's HDTV capability. The picture is fantastic, but in connecting HDMI on the DVD player to DVI on the TV, it cannot transfer the digital audio signal. Is there any connection/setting on the Sharp that will allow me to combine the DVI connection and an audio signal from a different input channel so that I can continue using the 2 standard Sharp speakers? (DVI is input 5 on the TV) I don't have any sort of AV processing equipment as I'm not that bothered about it right now. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Also, would I see any discernible improvement in picture quality if I was to invest in a more expensive HDMI to DVI adaptor cable?

2. marker

marker

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Afraid DVI is Video only m8, no sound what so ever... Has you tv got audio in of any sort, sometimes you will find that it has stereo in ( 1 red and 1 white ) rca inputs, they should be marked audio or stereo in, if so then at the back of your dvd player you will see the sam. Just connect them together using standard rca connectors and you will get sound...

As for the more expensive cabling, if your happy with the pic, whats the point?

3. Stephen Neal

Stephen Neal

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +681