Samsung hd-935 dvd player - anywhere it is in stock?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by am1001aa, Mar 21, 2004.

  1. am1001aa

    am1001aa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've read on the avsforums that the hd931 (which looks a lot like the HD935 for sale in the Uk) does not scale properly 4:3 material when using 720p.

    Has anyone who has a Samsung HD935 experienced problems with 720p scaled 4:3 material looking incorrect?

    It's important for me as I have lots of classic movies in my collection which are 4:3.

    I'm planning on using this dvd player with my ordered Panasonic AE500 projector.

    also, anywhere where the player is actually in stock?
     
  2. ILIAS ATHENS

    ILIAS ATHENS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. david park

    david park
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The first site, Unbeatable, have no stock.
    The second does not sell this product.
     
  4. Andy.T

    Andy.T
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,678
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +73
    PRC certainly have it listed, here. Dunno about stock though.
     
  5. david park

    david park
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes that link got it.
    Price is given as £179-95.
    Think normal shop price is £180
     
  6. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,442
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +54
  7. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,442
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +54
    Hmm, Panther don't seem to be listing it. Maybe they have a stock issue.

    They have supplied plenty to people on here, so if you haven't tried them, why not give them a call/email.

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  8. am1001aa

    am1001aa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the replies - I'll try these suppliers :)
     
  9. ILIAS ATHENS

    ILIAS ATHENS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Ratings:
    +0
    Prc has it but I don't know about stock.
    Why don't you send an email to unbeatable though?
     
  10. homeagain

    homeagain
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +9
    My HD935 arrived today from pantheronline ~ £142 delivered.
    The regionfree hack worked fine, now to try it out with my Panny AE500. :D
    Cheers,
     
  11. G a f f e r

    G a f f e r
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,019
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +631
    I also have ae500 and was considering this, but LOTS (a majority) of reviews in usa and over here complain of SEVERE judder with this player with pal discs. Turned me right off. Think I'll wait now. I advise you to demo before you buy because judder for me would be much more unlivable than the improvent of pq c.f. component........(imho) ;)
     
  12. homeagain

    homeagain
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +9
    Agreed Gaffer, but I have a 150 odd U.S. DVDs in my collection and a HTPC to use for PAL discs if the judder is unwatchable.
    Cheers.
     
  13. G a f f e r

    G a f f e r
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,019
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +631
    ...good point :D
     
  14. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +338
    Guys

    Sorry to hijack, but just to let you know I have advertised my 2 week old Yamakawa 365DivX in the classifieds forum.
     
  15. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,442
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +54
    Cheeky!

    However having owned two Sasmung 935s I can vouch that this is a much better DVD player.

    For a start it does 720p at 50hz and doesn't have stupid bright blue lights that are always on even when it is off. And don't get me started on the 935 remote. What idiot thought it was a good idea to have fast forward and next chapter on the same button??

    Having said all that. In general the 935 does give a great picture, the PAL judder on the PJs I used it on wasn't bad at all, and it is cheap and easy to get in the UK.

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  16. rimibar

    rimibar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi homeagain,

    Where did you find the hack? I have looked on the AVFORUMS hack database but I can't find it.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  17. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,442
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +54
    A quick forum search for 935 and hack would have given you this:

    1. Turn on the player.
    2. Press PLAY and STOP on the player. Keep the two buttons pressed until the language selection is displayed, then release them.
    3. Select language.
    4. Press REPEAT.
    5. Enter 57538. The region code will be displayed.
    6. Press 9.
    7. Press OPEN.
    8. Press STANDBY.

    If that doesn't work, repeat the process but in step 5 press 38767

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  18. david park

    david park
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Home Cinema Choice in its April reviews says.

    1, Disableing HDCP. Open tray and press the front panel DVI button.
    2. Region free hack (RCE discs supported).
    With disc tray empty but closed, press 'repeat' on the remote handset followed by 57538. The current region will be displayed on screen. Press '9' for region free playback.
     
  19. homeagain

    homeagain
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +9
    Davids link to the Home Cinema Choice review hacks were my source ~ and they work fine !
    Cheers.
     
  20. rimibar

    rimibar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +10
    Do you ever have one of those weeks? I ordered the Samsung, and then sent it back this morning because of the HDCP encryption. My Optoma H50 does not accept HDCP encoded signals.

    Can you definitely switch it off so that it will work with my projector?
     
  21. david park

    david park
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    All I can say the article says so.
     
  22. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,442
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +54
    I tried an LPX500 that does no accept HDCP and found that it would still take the 720p signal from the Samsung.

    That was without trying any HDCP hacks.

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  23. rimibar

    rimibar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +10
    All I got when I tried was fuzz! Will try the hack this week and see whether it makes a difference!

    Richard :thumbsup:
     
  24. rimibar

    rimibar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +10
    Further to previous post, I have now received and tested HD935. HDCP encryption can indeed be turned off (thanks!), but I have some further queries which I am hoping you might be able to help me with. They are as follows:

    1. Every time I switch player off/standby, it forgets that I switched off HDCP encryption - is it possible to make it remember permanently?

    2. When watching a DVD in DVI mode, I occasionally get a horizontal "line" moving down the screen - most annoying when the picture is otherwise so good. I believe this may be related to upsampling a 50hz source to 60hz. Is there anyway I can stop this happening?

    Thanks in advance!

    Richard
     
  25. homeagain

    homeagain
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +9
    Richard, I noticed the horizontal line once during Matrix Reloaded with the 935 converting a PAL disc to 60hz. It doesn't always happen, however you could switch the DVI output to 576P, red LED I think, and keep the output at 50hz. My Panny 500 does a good job of scaling PAL discs, so it's hard to tell the difference between [email protected] and [email protected] to be honest.
    As far as the HDCP disable, I don't need to worry as the Panny is HDCP compliant.
    Cheers, Rob.
     
  26. rimibar

    rimibar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi Homeagain,

    Thanks for this. Unfortunately when I use a 576 resolution is only fills part of the screen, or it fills the rest of the screen with part of the original image.

    Any ideas?
    Thanks,

    Richard
     
  27. JohnWH

    JohnWH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +82
    Fiddled with the DVI modes (A/B from the menu)?
     
  28. rimibar

    rimibar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi John,

    I fiddled with the A/B setting to try and remove the line problem. However, I have not tried it regarding resolution problem.

    Which of the above do you think will help?
    Thanks,

    Richard
     
  29. homeagain

    homeagain
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +9
    Richard, I'm not familiar with the Optoma but the Panny has two Edid settings which identify the DVI input signal. Does the H50 have something similar. It really should display 576P properly.
    If not leave it at [email protected], I've only ever seen the horizontal line once and the supposed judder from the 50/60hz conversion has never bothered me.
    Cheers, Rob.
     
  30. matt hill

    matt hill
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone any experience of the HD935 and AE300 projector?
    I got the DVD player today and it only shows a picture in 720p mode. I expected problems due to the AE300 not having HDCP but I don't seem to be able to get the hack to work.
    I open the tray and press the dvi button, but it just changes the dvi mode and I get a blank screen.
    I wouldnt mind as the quality is good in 720p, but unfortuntely it puts a horizontal, black bar near the bottom of the picture and beneath that a thin bar of "frozen picture".
    I've tried both dvi modes A and B.
    Has anyone else had this problem or any bright ideas?
    Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong with the HDCP hack?

    Thanks
    Matt
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice