Samsung DVD-HD950 hack anyone know yet?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Player Multiregion Hacks' started by DGtal, Jul 9, 2005.

  1. DGtal

    DGtal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No I haven't got one yet just thinking ahead! Presumably there won't be a problem but does anyone know yet for sure?

    Details for the 945 here:
    (www) videohelp.com/dvdhacks.php?select=Samsung+DVD-HD945

    Thanks
     
  2. Roohster

    Roohster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,557
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +1,283
    1. Turn on the Player with no disc on the tray.

    2. Press the "Repeat" key on the Samsung remote control

    3. Press the keys: "5 7 5 3 8" on the remote. A number will appear on the screen. That is your player's current region.

    4. Press the number for the region you want to use next ( 1 , 2 , etc). If you want your dvd player to be unlocked for all the regions press "9". A number should appear in the screen.

    5. Press the "Open/close" button in the remote. The tray will open. Leave it open for a few seconds.

    6. Just press the "On/off" button in the remote.
     
  3. reklor

    reklor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,027
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +193
    roohster2 - does this work with the samsung HD850 too?

    cheers
     
  4. Roohster

    Roohster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,557
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +1,283
    Yep!
     
  5. Fordy

    Fordy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +24
    What about RCE Discs?
     
  6. RichVader

    RichVader
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got my HD-DVD950 (with European two-prong plug, bizarrely), tried the above multi region hack - many times ... and nothing.

    Help ! I have loads of Region 1 DVDs, anyone any ideas ?

    Thanks in anticipation.

    :lease:
     
  7. Fontie

    Fontie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yeading
    Ratings:
    +11
    Are you sure your doing it properly I picked up a 950 on Saturday and the hack worked fine player now plays any region
     
  8. RichVader

    RichVader
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorted it, thanks, expected the region number to pop up on the DVD display when you enter the hack, didn't realise it appears on your TV screen !

    Player unlocked and playing all discs, including RCE Starship Troopers Region 1, in answer to the previous question about RCE. :D
     
  9. Fordy

    Fordy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +24
    Thank you RichVader, it only took 3 questions on 3 separate threads to answer this.
     
  10. eddievick

    eddievick
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got my HD950 yesterday, have been trying this for ages but getting nothing. Tried it through HDMI then heard a rumour that hack only works if connected through component. so plugged in a component cable instead, nothing!!! and just for good measure tried a scart too and again nothing. Starting to frustrate me a bit. can anyone shed any light on it????

    :lease: :lease:
     
  11. RichVader

    RichVader
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I completed the hack with the DVD player just connected by SCART.

    Make sure your TV is in fact ON and tuned to your DVD player (that was my mistake lol).

    After hitting the "Repeat" key and entering the code, the region number appears on your TV screen, in my case 2, then you just follow the instructions to set whatever region you want.

    Hope that's of some help.
     
  12. eddievick

    eddievick
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    :thumbsup: OK, problem was I wasn't keying the number in fast enough, you've gotta do it very quickly, all working and region free now Woo Hoo!!!!! :D
     
  13. feffers

    feffers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +1
    hey folks,

    Ive just bought a HD950 and have been told by someone that due to HDCP I wont be able to hack the DVD to multi region through the HDMI connection?? Is that right or is my source of info a fool...

    Thanks in advance.
     
  14. feffers

    feffers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +1
    hmmm just re read my post and it doesnt make too much sense :confused: . Basically I am trying to ascertain whether my HD950 player will play region 1 DVD's when connected to my LCD through HDMI. I have heard that it will only work through component. Can someone please confirm as the spotty work experience kid at Richer sounds kind of just said "err whats HDCP?".

    Thanks in advance.

    feffers
     
  15. podavies

    podavies
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Slough
    Ratings:
    +5
    I bought the player yesterday connected it to my Samsung T.V via HDMI
    it took me a about 6 go's to make the hack work. you really have to type the numbers in fast and i mean fast for this hack to work.

    Still having problems with the setting though cant get a sharp good looking picture.
     
  16. feffers

    feffers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for that. Could you elaborate on your issues with picture clarity with your Samsung TV as my 32" LCD has just been delivered at home and I was hoping for painless configuration tonight.

    Cheers
     
  17. viking1

    viking1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi can anyone tell me the hack for a samsung DVD 140
    Thank you:lease:
     

Share This Page

Loading...