1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

samsung Cable conundrum

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by barneybelly, Sep 7, 2005.

1. barneybelly

barneybelly
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have ordered the LE32R41B and was planning in advance what cables i would need for the best viewing pic possible.
    I gotta admit that i am a bit of an amateur when it comes to 720 hd blah etc....
    So if i tell you what i got could some knowledgable folk out there tell me the best way to connect and what i need?

Panasonic E85 DVD Recorder

Sky Box

Samsung tv (coming soon)

I won't be using this tv for xbox/ps2 etc as thats all set up in a different room on a crt tv.

One newbie question.....i have read a few things on here about progressive scan and that its a good way to view dvd's....how do i go about setting mine up with this and is there a seperate cable to use?
    See...i told u i was a newbie!!!!
    Also...whats component and is it better than scart?

2. andrewfee

andrewfee

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +500
    Component cables consist of five cables; red/green/blue ones for video, and red/white for audio. They're the same kind of cables as Composite (red/white/yellow) but they carry a different type of signal. Rather than sending the signal over one cable, the "brightness" (black and white) picture is sent over the green cable, the blue colour information over the blue cable, and red over red. The green colour information is worked out mathematically. Everything is seperated like this so that they can't "mix" in with each other, softening the image, and "muddying" the colours.