1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Samsung 935 DVI

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by cenkbut, Mar 9, 2004.

  1. cenkbut

    cenkbut
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can Samsung 935 handle 720p/50hz?

    I have heard that there was a judder problem with DVI connection of Samsung 935 as it can handle 720p/60hz only.

    Does anyone use 935 with DVI connection. If you used, with which panel? Did you have such problems?

    Thanks
     
  2. nelius

    nelius
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can tell you that the Yamakawa 365 can handle 720p/50Hz with the latest firmware upgrade. Has DVI conenction also. Can be bought from here www.computeruniverse.net

    EDIT: Sorry, but I assumed that you don't already own a Samsung model. Sorry if I'm wrong.
     
  3. cenkbut

    cenkbut
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have a Samsung yet. So are you happy with yamakawa, is the price as cheap as 985?

    Which display are you using with? Maybe I can go for the yamakawa if you're happy with it at all
     
  4. Galaxy

    Galaxy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex.........UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi, I have the 935 connected to a Hitachi 500E, and there is some very slight "judder" on slow pans, but it really is not that bad, I had second thoughts before buying this machine but having seen the difference between component inputs and DVI, I am happy I made the right decision.

    Best regards David
     
  5. cenkbut

    cenkbut
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks a lot for the info. I still couldn't decide yet. 935 is a nice machine for the price but yamakawa plays divxs but worries me can i find it here in UK, the warranty issues, the build quality.

    If I can see a 935 working on 720p with judder maybe then I can decide. Which movie and schene have you been seing this judder btw?

    Thanks a lot for the responses
     
  6. Galaxy

    Galaxy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex.........UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    The start of League of Gentlemen as the horse and carriage pan accross the screen, there is some perceptable judder.
    Honestly though.......I was worried when I bought it about the judder issue, but for £140 I took a gamble just for the DVI, I am pleased to say that I think the gamble payed off, the judder is only visible if you know its there really, none of the family have mentioned anything yet.......

    I am happy........

    BTW in this months What HiFi sound and vision magazine there is a very good review of the 935, it gets 5 stars for DVI output.

    Best regards David
     
  7. cenkbut

    cenkbut
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks David, I think I'll go with Samsung then I hope I won't have problems with panny 50pw6 as there is a problem with the dvi terminal board which is going to be fixed by a firmware update if it is not fixed already.

    Thanks a lot
     
  8. sapper44

    sapper44
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +62
    Mate of mine just had the samsung used dvi link to ptae 300 had some sort of black line across bottom of screen with what looks like remnants of a picture under that any ideas.Hope you understand.He did say the pic is stunning other than the line.
     
  9. Daftboy

    Daftboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Had the same problem with my Z200, but a firmware upgrade fixed this.....Had to send it in to be done though :0(
     
  10. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Nice thing about the Yamakawa's is they are user u[gradeable re the firmware. For £140 this player is a bargain and gives a truly excellent picture.

    Only downside with this one (as with all the cheaper DVI players I think) is that it has difficulty syncing over a 10m cable length. 2m cable works a treat but does not seem to have the 'driver power' to work consistently over the longer lengths.
     
  11. gothmog

    gothmog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sunny Shipley
    Ratings:
    +0
    The AE300 doesn't accept 1280x720 via DVI only 1280x768, hence you get 48 pixels of junk at the bottom.

    -- Jon
     
  12. assassin

    assassin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to highjack this thread... Any chance you chaps could tell me where you got your Samsung HD935's from? I'm having trouble finding a dealer online. Cheers
     
  13. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
  14. Galaxy

    Galaxy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex.........UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yes me too, ordered it Sunday and it arrived Tuesday........

    Best regards David
     
  15. assassin

    assassin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info :)
     
  16. sapper44

    sapper44
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +62
    Thanks for the reply gothmog could those junk pixels cause a problem with the pj panels like screen burn i'm new to all this so this may seem a daft question.Thanks for the replies.
     
  17. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Nope. LCD pjs (and DLPs) do not suffer from screen burn :) Just like LCD monitors.
     

Share This Page

Loading...