1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Samsung 40" LCD - LE40R51B

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by grimboy, May 13, 2005.

1. grimboy

grimboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

Has anybody got one of these or thinking about getting one of these?

I am looking for a large screen sutible for all functions on Media Center 2005, including PC usage, DVD's, and freeview. After searching high and low for a plasma with a high res (1024x768) I came across this LCD which is very resonably priced from be-direct.co.uk.

Can anybody give me the low down on this screen and what issues I might come accross? I'm still quite new to all of this and there is a lot of products out there.....

Cheers all,

Dan

2. Xelon

Xelon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +53
    1024 x 768? Surely not, as this is 4:3, most LCD's @ 16:9 are 1366 res as is the new Samsung 40", looks like a fantastic LCD with good specs, I have decided against this panel due too the fact that it only has a HDMI and D-Sub input, not a DVI, which in my opinion is a must have for HTPC use.

3. grimboy

grimboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes sorry as was aware that the LCD panel was 1366 x 768, I actually meant that I need at least a res of 1024x768, so the screen would be sutible for pc use on the couch.

Why is DVI an absolute must for HTPC? Can't you get a DVI-HMDI cable? Would you get better quality from this rather than vga dsub? There again I think on this model I read that you cannot use the HMDI with a PC input? Do you know this might be?

Also, if you've discounted this one what others are you considering at a sub £2k price?

Dan

4. grimboy

grimboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anybody else comment on this screen?

5. MAW

MAW
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings: