Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Samsung 26in LCD and 1080i

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by Ol!ver, Oct 14, 2005.

  1. Ol!ver

    Ol!ver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +109
    Now Im a bit of a newbie to HD, and have read as much as I can. I'm a little confused with one thing though. Based on the max resolution of my Sammy, the best it should be able to do is 720p correct? Now Ive had XBMC running in 1080i and all the menus etc get smaller than when running aat 720p. Now this to me means it is actually running at that res. This shouldn't be possible should it?

    Am I missing somethng blantently obvious?

    Chees
    :D
     
  2. dsb

    dsb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    it's showing the signal, but not all of it - it's throwing info away - as you say, if there are 720 physical pixels in the height, there's no way to show 1080
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    The LCD like all flat panels can accept an input source which has a greater resolution that the panel actually has (lower resolution input as well), it then uses it's internal scaling engine to resize the video to match the native resolution.
     
  4. Ol!ver

    Ol!ver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +109
    Yes that's what I would expect. But doing that should just drop it to 720i shouldnt it, meaning it looks the same as if I'd set it to that in the first place?
     
  5. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +69
    The scaler in the LCD is downscaling to 720. There's also de-interlacing going on in there, to convert to the necessary progressive format (720p). If the the signal from your XBMC was originally 720p, then it would be better to leave it as it was, rather than re-processing in the LCD.
     
  6. mitor

    mitor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    weston super mud
    Ratings:
    +116
    Hi

    In laymans terms when it downscales the image it doesn't actually change the "size" of the image just the detail level.


    The small font will still be small but just less detailed if that makes any sense?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice