sammy 1080p or philips 5980 or pioneer v400

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by luckystrike, Sep 11, 2007.

?
  1. samsung 1080p

    5 vote(s)
    20.8%
  2. philips 5980

    6 vote(s)
    25.0%
  3. pioneer v400

    13 vote(s)
    54.2%
  1. luckystrike

    luckystrike
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    which one is the best buy ?
     
  2. TommyVecetti

    TommyVecetti
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +93
    The Denon 1940.
     
  3. Haggler

    Haggler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,960
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Workbench bootblock
    Ratings:
    +662
    Strange i didn't see that player in the list, maybe something to do with it's 3 to 4 times the price.
     
  4. luckystrike

    luckystrike
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    yup thats why i choose these 3 which price is on the same range maybe we can help out the others who will be looking for dvd players
     
  5. TommyVecetti

    TommyVecetti
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +93
    The 5980 gives good picture quality, but's very glitchy. I'd probably go for the Pio.
     
  6. Timbo21

    Timbo21
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,682
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +332
    Yeah, I don't think I would ever buy a DVD player from Philips, unless it was the 963, but that was an unusually good one they once came up with.

    Pioneer have a good pedigree when it comes to DVD players.
     
  7. dibdab

    dibdab
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,374
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +108
    Another vote for the pioneer. Bothe the phillips and the sammy are very glitchy. Where as the pioneer just works perfectly.
     
  8. Kebabhead

    Kebabhead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +508
    Pioneer 400 as I have one :smashin:
     
  9. a4lloxo

    a4lloxo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    the city or town where you live
    Ratings:
    +127
    yup id go with the pio,ive had players from all three but pioneer are head and shoulders above the other two
     
  10. Mark Spanner

    Mark Spanner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    @TommyVecetti & dibdab

    Could you at least explain what glitches the Philips have? :confused:

    I have the Philips and haven't experienced any glitches at all. :D
     
  11. luckystrike

    luckystrike
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    is the pioneer worth the extra dough
     
  12. dibdab

    dibdab
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,374
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +108
    I don't own the phillips nor have i used it, but from looking at the forums here. Having to update firmware to fix this problem or that, to me would be a hassle.

    The pioneer just works, watching AVI's from a USB stick i don't have to switch resolutions from 1080i. Which i am sure i have read for the phillips.
     
  13. TommyVecetti

    TommyVecetti
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +93
    Never seems to stick to it's settings, after a few weeks buttons stop working etc. Very flimsy build quality etc.
     
  14. Haggler

    Haggler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,960
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Workbench bootblock
    Ratings:
    +662
    Hopefully philips added an open/close button on the 5980's remote control, if i had one major gripe with the 5960 it was the fact that you had to press the stop button about 10 times instead!.
     
  15. Ross-P

    Ross-P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    400
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    Theres no open and close button, the remote is awful and the menu system is the worst you could ever imagine !

    But the picture and sound ( put through my Onkyo 875 ) is incredible for the price, this makes up for all the above :D
     
  16. ronald chu

    ronald chu
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Angeles City
    Ratings:
    +0
    philips has no optical audio output.:confused:
     
  17. Ross-P

    Ross-P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    400
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    It hasn't got an optical out but it has a coaxial out which is just as good. All amps have Coaxial in. :thumbsup:
     
  18. Raging Discs.

    Raging Discs.
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can one of the dv400 pioneer owners tell me please if it has s-video out and any good. A chap from the Edinburgh home cinema spot told me the 400 doesnt so I`d have to go for the 600.
    But on the pioneer site it says the 400 has s-video out!!!!!!! he was definate it didnt.
    Thanks Mark.
     
  19. umrelt

    umrelt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    No s-video

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...