1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sagem ITD64 - What inteconnect ?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by mrdbristol, Aug 26, 2005.

  1. mrdbristol

    mrdbristol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can any Sagem ITD64 freeview box owners let me know what cable they are using for tha audio out socket on back of box ( 3.5mm jack to RCA )

    I am using a 3.5mm jack to 2 RCA "splitter" but doesn't work very well .

    ( Needs to connect to Home cinema Sub/Amp with RCA and Coax inputs.)

    Any link to a cable type would be helpful.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Dean25

    Dean25
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +8
    Well I would say don't go overboard on a decent cable, something like a budget 3.5mm to 2 rca should be fine, I think you can get an ixos cable for about £10.00 or a profigold cable for under £10.00, and QED cables are about £20.00 I think. One thing to be aware of though because the output isn't digital you probably won't be able to use it for 5.1, if you want 5.1 from you're freeview you will need a box with a digital output.
    best wishes dean
     
  3. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    19,784
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,882
    What do you mean by "but doesn't work very well"?
    If the audio output is from a standard 3.5mm stereo socket all you need is a 3.5mm stereo jackplug to 2 phono plugs lead surely?
     
  4. mrdbristol

    mrdbristol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    "doesn't work very well " = only four surrounds !

    Centre is o.k , sub/amp is o.k , rears are o.k

    But only one of the front speakers will work at a time ( i.e Left OR Right depending on which way i plug the RCA's into the splitter.

    I know this sounds a dumb question and like youself thought a simple jack/2RCA adapter would do.

    BUT the manual says Jack to 3 RCA's as does someone else from a diff. forum
    hence my question.

    Cheers.
     
  5. mrdbristol

    mrdbristol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Sagem ITD64 is capable of Digital output

    Cheers,
    Mark
     
  6. mrdbristol

    mrdbristol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The manual and website describe as such :

    " 3.5mm jack to 3 RCA's - where yellow is Digital "
    " This kind of cable is also intended for digital and analogue camcorders "
    " IEC 958 Digital audio out : 4p mini jack "

    Would i be "correct" in thinking 4P means "4 pole " and connecting the yellow rca to the digital COAX input on home cine. ?

    Just to confuse matters 2 other sites state it has Optical audio out.

    Hope you can Help.
     
  7. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    19,784
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,882
    Yes.

    You can but try it.......it won't do any harm.

    If it has optical out have a look on the rear panel and see if it has an optical out socket. :confused:
     
  8. Dean25

    Dean25
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +8
    It sounds like Sagem have done what Sony have done on the vtx-d800u, which is to combine the analogue output and optical digital output in the same socket.
     
  9. mrdbristol

    mrdbristol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thx for both replies ;

    It does not have an Optical out socket ,

    BUT , as Dean says , it may be combined with analogue in the 3.5mm jack plug.

    ( I have seen 3.5mm jack plug optical cables on Ebay , so this is possible )

    This is why I am confused - The manual's description of cable req'd might aswell be in Martian for all the good it is.

    Any Sagem ITD64 owners out there ?


    Cheers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...