Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Sagem HD-D50 - Urgent advice needed please

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by jackuzi, Mar 7, 2005.

  1. jackuzi

    jackuzi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Wales
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    How can I tell get the hour count on a Sagem 50? I am going to see what price I can pick one up for tomorrow (at the right price it's got to be worth it???) and I want to factor in how long it's been switch on for.

    Thanks,

    Glen
     
  2. mrmoo

    mrmoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Not for a paperweight.
     
  3. jackuzi

    jackuzi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Wales
    Ratings:
    +0
    :) :rolleyes: next!!

    Would really appreciate constuctive opinions/advice.
     
  4. Andyuk911

    Andyuk911
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    I think, but please check the DVI does not allow for HDCP, thus Sky HD will not appear.
     
  5. mistycat

    mistycat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My uncle could use it for a weight on his fishing line. That is if the fish would go near it! I hear old skodas are also going cheap. Maybe you could pick one up cheap to take the tv home.
     
  6. St_ve

    St_ve
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    you could try ringing up Sagem and asking them if there are any remote codes u can use.It's probably buried in the sevice menu for engineers so they may not give it out.
    If it's a demo model 1 would guess at 180 days at 12 hours a day = 2160 hours.

    mrmoo should be called mastermoo i presume he's a juvenile & iwould suggest a name change for mistycat to nastycat
     
  7. mistycat

    mistycat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tks st_ve. Sorry about being a bit rude. It shows how much you guys have had an impression on me, I have caught the av bug, as here I am after a little drinkie, catching up with news. Naughtycat.lol :rolleyes: Promise to be a good girl from now on.
     
  8. jackuzi

    jackuzi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Wales
    Ratings:
    +0
    :) Cheers for the support st_ve.

    Well the way I see it is you have to way up what you are getting for the money you are going to pay for it.

    The 50 has a lot going for it and from memory I'm sure the picture was better than the 45 I see yesterday and if I can get it for half the price then it's sooooo tempting.

    Andyuk99 - I'm aware of the HDCP issues and that why I'm thinking it may be bargain time, even though I won't be able to put in a HDCP source.

    I want to use a HTPC in the equation and I am thinking that this may 'get around' the problem of having to use HDCP enabled technology to get HD viewing?

    Anyway, I am going to go on my mission this afternoon. Will update with progress if anyone's interested.
     
  9. Squiffy

    Squiffy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    11,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +5,138
    Forgive my ignorance, but why do we need HDCP in the TV itself?

    There are going to be a lot of other TVs that won't have HDCP. Why won't there be some sort of separate box that we can route HDCP feeds into and get a decrypted feed out of?
     
  10. Steve.J.Davies

    Steve.J.Davies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +199
    Hollywood/Mpaa don't want you to be abl eto do that. they have spent a lot of time and effort in lining up the technology and the players (sic) to fulfill this aim. They want to control the signal end to end. It won't stop counterfeit/pirate disks but it will stop you being able to to do anything you want with the signal.
    Unless you have a way around it.
     
  11. jackuzi

    jackuzi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Wales
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where there's a will, there's a way ;)
     
  12. St_ve

    St_ve
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using a HTPC is an excellent idea as it will give you acess to Hidef material and a PC software DVD player like WinDvd6 has excellent quality right up there with the Denon 3910 & Arcam DVD players (or at least getting close) With a Digital TV card u can record freeview TV & at a better quality than Sky or Telewest put out..
    BUT u will not be able to watch the Sky hidef service when it starts or use any of the new hidef DVD players. It is allways possible that something might eventually come along but it by no means certain.
     
  13. digitize

    digitize
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This makes good business sense, will increase everyone's profits - will make a lot of people happy, will discourage hacking/cracking as well...

    This will happen I'm sure...

    technology works this way - immitate, integrate, innovate...
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice