1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SAGEM HD-D50 Picture Probs

Discussion in 'TVs' started by Mose, Apr 28, 2005.

  1. Mose

    Mose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Aldershot
    Ratings:
    +149
    My axium has recently developed a mind of its own when playing back DVDs. I dont watch terestrial TV, but the normal five channels are suffering as well.

    I watch a lot of films during the week, and recently the set has started to RANDOMLY place the picture on the screen. For example, if I play a 2:35 disc, the picture sits on the bottom 2 thirds of the screen, when in theory, it should sit in the middle. If I play an anamorphic disc, the pcture is stretched to the right hand side of the screen so I am loosing about 10% of the picture to the right side. On a 1:85 disc, the picture is stretched both ways, similar to setting the screen to zoom.

    I have called SAGEM and they will be sending out an engineer, and assure me that if the set cannot be fixed, I will be offered the D45 as a replacement.

    Does anyone have any specific views on being offered the D45. I would certainly miss the 5 xtra inches, but its not that essential.

    I considered looking at the SAMSUNG models, but I cannot for the life of me get used to that central stand that houses the projector, neither do I want to get rid of my Atacama Av Stand because of the Sammy's design.

    Opinions much appreciated.

    MOSE
     
  2. Gregory

    Gregory
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +9
    I also had the 50, had it go wrong (twice) and needed a replacement. We looked at the HD45, but didn't like the picture as much (a common theme from what I see on these threads), so we got our money back instead.

    We are now likely to go for the Optima 65, but are waiting until the lounge finished since it's a beast and I don't want to be moving it!.

    A better quick alternative for you might be the Optima 50 which is a more modern version of the Sagem 50 (it was a rebadged earlier Optima). Identical looking but bit darker I believe.

    Cheers

    Greg
     
  3. Mose

    Mose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Aldershot
    Ratings:
    +149
    Was thinking of the Optima 50, and am still in two minds about the Sammy oo, I just dont like the column it sits on. If it werent for this, I would go for it tomorrow. I have asked for a refund, but SAGEM dont seem to be that forthcoming with the offer. They cant wait to throw another Sagem at me.
     
  4. Gregory

    Gregory
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +9
    My refund was from Currys, not Sagem (at least, not directly). They weren't completely happy, but did give way gracefully
     
  5. Mose

    Mose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Aldershot
    Ratings:
    +149
    Am not entirely sure hether or not I would qualify for a full refund, since I have had the set for 5 months now. Bought mine from COMET.
     
  6. Gregory

    Gregory
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hmm. M ight have been Comet I got mine from too - memory blurs between them all. However, I also got mine months before the refund - probably more than 5. the first went bang (literally - took out the ring crcuit breaker) and 'never lived no more' The replacement developed picture problems (massive banding/posterization all the time) after a couple of months. After ages of faffing about Curries/Comet (whoever it was) said they couldn't get a spare board & I could pick a replacement. I didn't like the Sagem 45, and did want the 50" size, so I asked for my money back. There was some challenge re. whether I could really tell the difference in the picture, but I pointed out that I could and that's why I had had the Sagem 50 in the first place - and they conceeded the point and gave me a full refund for the telly, extended warrenty (which was ridiculously cheap in the first place or I wouldn't have got it) and the stand (since any replacement wouldn't use it).

    Cheers

    Greg
     
  7. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,025
    Not fit for purpose. Quote the Sale of Goods Act and demand a full refund from the retailer. No, not a repair or replacement. Why?:

    If you get cash, the you can buy another. Even if it's the same model, you then get brand new guarantee, and brand new Sale Of Goods Act rights and so on. In other words any 12 month or 6 year (etc) periods, start afresh. Whereas they don't in the case of repair or replacement.
     
  8. Gregory

    Gregory
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +9
    I had that in my back pocket, but didn't need to get too pushy with them, so didn't need to go down that route. I believe that the usual intepretation is that they have to have 'reasonable opportunity to rectify any faults' - not sure how replacements are viewed though (i.e. whether this is counted as rectifying faults). I certainly felt I was on defensible grounds as they weren't replacing like for like
     
  9. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,548
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,508

    I'd go along with LV426. Forget repairing the set, I'd want my cash back and a new one in its place with a new warrenty. Makes more sense than fixing a faulty TV. If one thing can go wrong what stress or strain has this put on other parts of the system? What else could go wrong? I would nt feel comfortable with the set after it had been fixed, Id just be waiting for something else to break or fail.

    Get your cash and buy a new set with a fresh warrenty. :thumbsup:
     
  10. sprattgraham

    sprattgraham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
    Ratings:
    +28
    Why Not Contact Sagem And Get Them To Come And Have A Look At It.

    They Replaced My HD-D50 With Another One.
     
  11. evolution400

    evolution400
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cwmbran
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi MOSE I have a similar problem on my Sagem 50 it only affects the aerial channes fed direct to TV though my screen is about 2 inches from the left i.e a black bar from top to bottom on the left vertical side which is due to pciture moving accross for some reason I think.
    It must be a software issue or it would affect my whole set would think, scart and DVI are perfect. I will be calling Sagem to report this do you have a contact number for them ? do you need to quote your seril number ? as this could be the begining of a problem and if I were you I would not get the 45" "size does matter" IMO :) if mine totaly ****s up I will be getting the optoma "50 like St_ve has becaue I will be using it similar to him.
     
  12. acanning

    acanning
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All

    Slightly changing the subject….

    I have my Sagem Axium connected to a Sky Digibox in the usual way. I’ve noticed that the picture never changes from 16:9 to 4:3 so quite often I have the ‘fat’ picture problem with non widescreen material. On my old CRT telly the picture would change automatically. I have the Scart control switched on but can’t make it change.

    Also, Anyone know how to make the Sagem default to one of the AV inputs from start-up?

    And finally….did anyone discover how to make the Sky remote work with the Sagem?

    Cheers

    Ashley
     
  13. sprattgraham

    sprattgraham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
    Ratings:
    +28
    Contact Sagem On 01784 898158 And Ask For The Help Line For The TV's. What Software Version Do You Have?

    To Find Out Do The Following. Go into the menu and go to install then sources and type in 36987.

    I Think The Latest Software is 0062 & 0063.
     
  14. acanning

    acanning
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that.

    I think my software version is quite old say 0052 or similar. I'll give Sagem a go but do you think my issues are software related?

    Cheers

    Ashley
     
  15. sprattgraham

    sprattgraham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
    Ratings:
    +28
    I Did'nt Have Any Problems When I Had Sky With Software Version 0051.

    Just Make Sure The Picture Output On Sky Is Set To RGB and The Picture Size On The Box Is 16:9.

    And Also Make Sure The TV Is Set To 16:9 Not Stretch.
     
  16. St_ve

    St_ve
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mose if your set cannot be repaired & you cannot get a new HD 50 to replace it i would have thought Comet have to offer a full refund if you do not want the 45.
    I've seen the Sagem several times in my local Comets Castle Vale Birmingham all the sets have poor sources & the Sagem 45 had problems with skin tones with a high def source & the screen was frosty looking on any white scenes.
    The Sagem 45 at Castle Vale has since had a Sagem tech visit it & changed the hidef material & maybe adjusted the set ? it now looks far better skin tones now look good but smoother than you'd expect from a high def picture.
    I've seen the Sagem 45 in the Solihull Comet's as well they have their TV sets set up much better & the 45 was on it's stand & had a couch in front of it. They were showing high def material & the picture looked great , one thing i did notice was a narrow vertical viewing angle compared to my set.
     
  17. acanning

    acanning
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +0

    Interesting, my settings are all the same as yours! The picture qaulity is fine but always in widescreen mode - not a big problem, just annoying.

    I spoke to Sagem today who didn't really help much but they said they would call me back. I was told that they don't generally send out the software upgrades anymore!! Not sure if that is true or not? Do you still have your upgrade kit? Could we come to some arrangement!!!

    They also told me that they are not providing the HDCP upgrade we all dreamed of as the new Sky box is going to have component outputs so the Axium will be compatible as far as they are concerned. Our problem is that much of the 'good' Hi-def content is bound to be enrypted.

    If Sagem call me back I'll let you know what they said.

    Regards

    Ashley
     
  18. sprattgraham

    sprattgraham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
    Ratings:
    +28
    There is a company in Brentwood called "Technical support group"

    Give them a call they do all the repairs For Sagem. Thats where I got mine from.
     
  19. Mose

    Mose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Aldershot
    Ratings:
    +149
    SAGEM came out to do a software upgrade in January, and for a little while, the set was faultless. They are great to deal with on the phone and deal with things very quickly.
     
  20. Mose

    Mose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Aldershot
    Ratings:
    +149
    I actually lost my cool in COMETs, and told them they were an incompetent bunch of t*ssers. I wont be buying anything from there again.
     
  21. Gregory

    Gregory
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +9
    Ah. That will have helped ;)

    I must admit that I have sometimes found shopping in places like that a good training ground for patience in the face of massive provocation. On this occasion I managed to pull it off and they did do what they needed to (the manager who tried to persuade me to take the 45 did go off to the back of the shop and sulk though - he was glaring at me for the duration of the refunding exercise!).

    So, whilst they were actually quite good about it, even if between gritted teeth, when the refunding system had a glitch (they couldn't match receipts or whatever) and they offered to do it without me having to wait, I decided to stay just in case they had second thoughts and wanted to try and back out. Not that they would have succeded (the law is clear), but it would have been a right pain in the neck to go through it again - and I might have had problems staying cool then

    Chers

    Greg
     
  22. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,548
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,508

    You should of nutted the manager. Then reported him for being rude.

    Serioulsy thought I wouldnt have that at all I would of reported the little trumped up hitler to his head office. There is no need to start staring you out, these idiots think they own comet's not work for them. After all you are the customer and his job is to serve you not intimedate you. :)
     
  23. philip41

    philip41
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doubt that head office would have been to bothered either, i mean what happened to the customer is Always Right.
     
  24. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,548
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,508


    If you go to the top and kick up enough fuss you should get satisfaction. At the very least I would of pushed him over, by aciddent of course :devil:

    It now seems that the customer is wrong unless proved otherwise. From all the reports in these threads it has definanetly put me off shopping with comet or currys. I always like shopping at speciast AV stores, they I think deserve the sale and understand the product alot better than these superstores do. If you keep on re-using the same av supplier the prices will drop and a good repaur will be built. I have this relationship with Hifi Confidential, Prestige Audio and now Sarner. :) My father likes Musical Images as his fav.
     
  25. Gregory

    Gregory
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +9
    The issue was that no-one else sold it at the time, so I had no choice - I did have my doubts at the time. To be fair, he might have been a litle ****** with me, but he did give in with good grace when I was actually talking to him

    Cheers

    Greg
     
  26. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,548
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,508

    Hi gregg

    Are you saying that comet had the sagem dsiplay in store before a AV specialist shop. I find that a bit strange, its normally the otherway round. At least you got your cash back which is the main thing. What are you going for now or have you already got it? :)
     
  27. Rezillo

    Rezillo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    I do not know if this works for the HD-50 but for the HD-D45 the 'One for All' code is 830, which should equate to a Sky code of 858 (if what i'm told is correct - i.e. add 28 to the OFA code to get the Sky one). My Sky+ remote does not have this code so it looks as if that's it for the time being.

    The usual OFA trick of looking for another manufacturer who uses this code and trying some more that they have doesn't seem to work. 830 comes from a modem upgrade to my Topline5 - it doesn't seem to be in any of the OFA remote manuals so I can't find who else uses it.

    John

     
  28. Gregory

    Gregory
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +9
    Well, I thought I had done my research at the time, and my choice was just comet (or curries - whoever it was). Clearly, I could have been wrong - but I did ask in at least one specialist AV retailer - and they both had no DLP sets and were pretty dismissive overall (incorrectly I still believe - miles better picture than most plasma's I've seen). So, I was reduced to the high street.

    I have not yet replaced it, though I got an 26" Acer LCD screen as a stand-by (destined for another room at some point). We are still redoing the lounge, so I want to hold off until it's done before going big again - especially as the Optimo 65" looks like the winner at the moment, and I believe it weighs a ton, so don't want to have to move it from room to room to often :) You'd know of course - is it hard to move? Also, in a moment of reality, the lounge is taking a long while to do, so I don't really want to commit until right at the time we want it in case there is any new kit that would be better.

    Actually, Razor, now I think about it I wonder if I could ask a slightly odd question re the Optimo 65". How far from the floor are the AV inputs? Reason for asking is that I buried cables in the walls for the screen & kept them slightly short so I could hang a plasma/OLED or whatever in future easily. They were designed to reach the Sagem 50" with a little to spare, but if the 65" inputs are much lower (as they might be with no stand involved) then I might have to extend them :( or think again about the Optima

    Cheers

    Greg
     
  29. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,548
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,508
    You normally find places like seven oaks put down DLP rear pros and try and sell you a plasma or a front pro instead. Ignore these sales men.

    My rd65 weighs 16 stone and is on wheels. It is so easy to move around, it just glides along.

    The connections at the back are socket height around 20cm off the ground. There is a pdf file from optoma (not optima) on the web which has the case design and position of the sockets at the rear.

    I have posted so pics in the rd50 thread if you havent seen them yet.

    http://www.bban.co.uk/products.asp?cat=225

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showpost.php?p=1634834&postcount=343

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showpost.php?p=1635759&postcount=347

    The RD65 is a very nice and impressive set as long as you aint a big region 1 collector without a pc. Otherwise I would recomend this display, once seen never forgotten. ( I can always find it in my Lounge :rotfl: )
     
  30. Gregory

    Gregory
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +9
    I did
    Ah - good (and obvious in hindsight)
    B**ger. Cables end about 30 cm up. Maybe I should put it on a 15 cm stand!
    I'm not (only a few R1's), and I have several PC's - no objection to building one for this either

    Pictures are great too BTW - but I knew that!

    The cable thing is a right pain. I hate adding joints to cables, though I suppose if it is going digitally anyway in the medium term then it probably isn't the biggest issue. Looks messy though (I know it's behind the cabinet etc., but I'll KNOW it's there ;)

    THanks for the response

    Greg
     

Share This Page

Loading...