Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Sagem HD-D45S Spotted in Curry's

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by webbp, Apr 7, 2005.

  1. webbp

    webbp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all,
    I just went on my lunchtime excursion to Curry's to pass the time & I caught them setting up a new Sagem HD-D45S.
    I didn't have time to hang around & see it in action though unfortunately.
    They were rigging it up to a dedicated Sagem Freeview box, so I will be interested to see it again tomorrow.
    It looked very nice, all silver instead of the black bezel as on the HD-D45.
    No side speakers either, which is a plus (as I dont like the look of them at all).
    The speakers are mounted in the foot, as I think the sub that is in the 45 is not included in this model.
    The kid setting it up admitted he knew nothing about it at all, so no knew insight from here sorry.
    He advised the price at £1899 and £300 for the stand.

    I'll try to post again if I see it in action with the Freeview box.
     
  2. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    21,991
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +8,432
    Does it have the same daft frosty screen as the normal HD-D45?
     
  3. webbp

    webbp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +1
    I cant say yet mate as it wasn't yet turned on.
    I'll let you know tomorrow.
    But, as far as I can tell its the same set as the 45, just a cut down version of it.
     
  4. capt_janeway

    capt_janeway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kennedy Town - Hong Kong
    Ratings:
    +11
    Link to it on their site here

    Picture from ebay [​IMG]
     
  5. BanziBarn

    BanziBarn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I saw one of these in John Lewis - I don't know what they were feeding it from but I've nevre seen such a good picture in my life - it was stunning.
     
  6. webbp

    webbp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +1
    Went back today to see it in action.
    From across the store it shone out due to its promenant position.
    The picture looked bright & pretty amazing.
    The set was mounted on the Sagem stand on the floor.
    As you get up close (within 5 feet) you immediately notice the top of the screen darken indicating the vertical angle isn't so great.
    Side to side though the angle didn't seem to darken at all.
    Also you notice the frosted look of the screen over the picture.
    However, from 5 or more feet away this is not noticeable.

    All in all, I was very impressed.
     
  7. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    21,991
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +8,432
    The frosted screen is visible from greater than 5 ft away, I could see it from 10ft at least! You might think it's not an issue but when you get it home and you start noticing it more and more trust me it quickly becomes an issue!

    Andy
     
  8. Bruce1310

    Bruce1310
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Aylesbury, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not everyone thinks it's an issue...

    B.K
     
  9. St_ve

    St_ve
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure you see how it handles skin tones before parting with your cash.
    When i saw the Sagem 45 in Comet's they were showing a rolling demo of hi def lasting about 30 mins only about 2 minutes showed facial skin tones & the formula one demo faces were solarised not natural at all.
     
  10. malso

    malso
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    278
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes i saw one today too, it looks quite small though, it's tiny compared to the grand wega or samsung...maybe that's a good thing!

    i was served my a 19 year old kid in Currys :D :D but he knew more than the git i spoke to last time.
     
  11. nigel_williams

    nigel_williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +3
    Saw the new model in Curry's today, not sure I like it in silver, the piano black finish is much nicer.

    I also had a quick look at the back panel, I may be mistaken, but it didn't seem to have any VGA inputs, just the single DVI.

    I'd consider paying £1999 from John Lewis and getting the HD-D45 rather than the S model at £1899.
     
  12. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +69
    The VGA is on the side on the HD-D45, not the back. Assume is the same in the silver model, if it is fitted. It is on a 'pop-out' section on the side of the pedestal base.
     
  13. St_ve

    St_ve
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would be very surprised if they missed out the vga. Not a bad lcation for it on the side .On my RD50 it's at the front & if you wanted to use a HTPC with the vga it would look daft.
     
  14. Razor

    Razor
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,567
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,435
    I cant see why these manufactures cant give us 4 HDMi sockets, 4 DVI, 4 component 2 VGA etc. None of this 1 HDMI and a VGA at the front. It then leaves us to go out and by swappers adapters etc... Poor show.
     
  15. St_ve

    St_ve
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Who needs 3 scart plugs, 2 scart & 2 DVI or HDMI would have been better
     
  16. Razor

    Razor
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,567
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,435
    The more the merrier....
     
  17. nigel_williams

    nigel_williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +3
    I've got the HD-D45, so I checked that too.

    It was very dark in the room, so I could be mistaken :suicide:
     
  18. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +69
    I'm with you on the digital video inputs. At least one DVI (HDCP) and one HDMI would have been nice. Most serious users are going to be connecting a PC via DVI these days, so a separate HDMI would be nice. Of course a second DVI would work just as well, but for novice users the security of having a matching socket to the one on their DVD/STB etc should not be ignored.

    Personally I am using all three scarts (Sky+, SVHS [remember those ;) ], Dreamcast [not a major gaming fan - bought one when they were selling them off cheap]). Of course the DVI is the dogs for DVD. Am on the list for the firmware update to (hopefully) remove the slight green tingeing on black scenes. Only see this from this input, and is not very troublesome.

    I suspect the shortage of digital connections is due to:

    a) additional license fees for each input
    b) the company's assessment of what the majority of potential customers are looking for - don't forget that us members are in the minority of their target market!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice