1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sagem HD-D45 service menu access?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Snap, Sep 5, 2005.

  1. Snap

    Snap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Celle (Hannover)
    Ratings:
    +1
    Does anyone know how to access it? Searched whole internet - nothing.
    Whant to check number of hours on the bulb.
    Thanks
     
  2. sprattgraham

    sprattgraham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
    Ratings:
    +28
    There is no on screen service menu.

    Think the engineers can check it with there diagnostic software I know it lets them check temp, fan speeds.
     
  3. Boris Blank

    Boris Blank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Outpost 31
    Ratings:
    +161
    There has to be a way to access the service menu, how else can the set be calibrated if the colours/geometry is off?

    I read somewhere that the version of the firmware in the set can be checked by going into Menu, Sources and then pressing 3698. Does this work?
    Paul
     
  4. Snap

    Snap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Celle (Hannover)
    Ratings:
    +1
    I did it and it worked. there is nothing much to see there.
     
  5. Boris Blank

    Boris Blank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Outpost 31
    Ratings:
    +161
    Thanks Snap. Well if that works then likely access to the service menu is simply (sic) a combination of keys on the handset.

    How about Menu then 619 and Menu again? Enter 619 at any time to exit the service menu. I don't think this will work, it was the code for the last years Optoma's in the US but you never know.

    Paul
     
  6. sprattgraham

    sprattgraham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
    Ratings:
    +28
    All the calibration is done by PC to fix the green tint problem with the original batch of the HD-D45 otherwise the only thing the PC can do is check the internal temps, fan speeds, how many times the unit has been turned on and off, how many hours the lamps been used.

    The geometry is all done by hand and the colours are preset into the software and dlp chip.
     
  7. Boris Blank

    Boris Blank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Outpost 31
    Ratings:
    +161
    By hand - how do you mean? Edit: Ah, you mean by hand at the factory?

    When you say PC, I take it you mean the PC that the service guy used?
    Thanks,
    Paul
     
  8. sprattgraham

    sprattgraham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
    Ratings:
    +28
    The geometry is changed by moving the mirrors if there not in the right place also I would think there fixed values remember these are not normal tv so don't work the same as crt.

    Depends there are two versions of the PC software one is more advanced and can check all the things I listed above.
     
  9. Boris Blank

    Boris Blank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Outpost 31
    Ratings:
    +161
    Interesting stuff, many thanks for that. My curiousity about the Sagems seems to have risen dramatically for some reason.
    Paul
     
  10. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,909
    Indeed. In any pixel/chip based projector, the image on the chip itself has to be exactly "right" - i.e. whatever the image processing in the set wants it to be. Any unwanted distortion has to be wholly optical - inaccuracies in the light path. (Quite unlike a CRT). And the "big" mirror is the only thing that's likely to be positioned inaccurately. If it were possible to adjust geometry via a menu, then this would have to be akin to keystone correction on front projectors - distorting the image on the chip, opposite to the distortion in the light path, so as to cancel out. But distorting the image on the chip compromises resolution........better to have the light path right.
     

Share This Page

Loading...