1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sagem HD-D45 has arrived!!! WOOHOO!

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Kazman, Oct 7, 2005.

  1. Kazman

    Kazman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Luton, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +136
    And what a picture!!!!

    Looks fantastic. Word of warning though, the DVI-D interface and the HDMI out of the Pioneer DV668 aren't compatible, so anyone with a Pioneer DV668 should stay away from this particular Sagem model, the new ones that have just been released with HDMI inputs should be fine though.

    The colour depth is superb!! Blacks spot on, I still need to run AVIA through it though, will do that tomorrow after I pick up the Marantz DV7600.

    There is the frosty screen, but to be honest, it isn't really that bad, certainly not enough to detract from the amazing picture quality!!

    Great TV, absolutely stunning!!!
     
  2. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good for you!

    I had my Hd45 and set it up on September 1'st.
    After 3 days I noticed problems with it. IE: sudden darkening as if someone was fiddling with the contrast. It's worse in eco mode and affects coax and scart inputs.

    Also a new fault with the sound being intermittently muffled and vibrating.

    I am still waiting for Sagem or whoever their repairers are to come out and fix it.

    I intend giving it until the end of next week and if there is no definate appointment, then it goes back for a refund.

    I have come close to demanding a refund several times, I think I have been more than patient, but enough is enough.

    The picture is excellent (Excluding faults) but I paid a lot of money for this, so I expect it to be in good working order.

    I am disgusted at Sagem's slowness to effect a repair.
    I certainly cannot say that I could reccomend any of Sagem's products to others because of this delay in repairing my HD45.


    Not very happy at all! :thumbsdow


    dog-man
     
  3. kmhtkmhtkmht

    kmhtkmhtkmht
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same PROBLEMS here!

    The contrast issue is REALLY bad and I notice it right on the 56!

    Looks like I will be returning the set as it is an inherent fault!
     
  4. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I spoke to Andrew Gorman about it and he admitted that they did not know what was causing the problem, but they had a few ideas to try.
    He also admitted that there were others with the same fault.

    I spoke to the service department on Monday and they said they had been instructed to replace everything that could be replaced.

    I am not 100% sure, but I believe that Sagem have passed my repair job over to another company.


    dog-man
     
  5. Kazman

    Kazman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Luton, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +136
    Could possibly be a bad batch? When did you guys both get yours?

    Touch wood, mine has been faultless so far :D Guess we'll find out in three days if I suffer the same.
     
  6. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,044
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +383
  7. sprattgraham

    sprattgraham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
    Ratings:
    +28
    I had the same problem with my HD-D45 with it getting darker then brighter.

    Andrew Gorman came out and replaced the part that control's the lamp and its fine now, Think it’s called the ballast the part he replaced and now it’s working the TV is perfect.

    Sagem use a third party company to do repairs for then and they are useless they never call you back and you just have to keep reminding them.
     
  8. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    How come Andrew personally came out to you then?



    dog-man
     
  9. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone experienced the muffled sound / vibration problem?
    Or is it just my set?



    dog-man
     
  10. Kazman

    Kazman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Luton, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +136
    TV pic is here, not a very good pic though, it's from my camera phone which isn't too hot in low light.

    When I get my new digi cam in the next few weeks I'll take some better pics.

    I need to sort out the wires behind the stand next, probably do that on Sunday.

    Picture is absolutely superb on this set, blows my old Toshie rear pro out of the water and into orbit!
     

    Attached Files:

  11. kmhtkmhtkmht

    kmhtkmhtkmht
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got mine from Avwow.com , if they can't fix it then a full refund!
     
  12. sprattgraham

    sprattgraham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
    Ratings:
    +28
    I use to have the HD-D50 and Andrew came out to have a look at two of the three replacements I had direct from Sagem.

    I was having lots of problems that I one way or another was present on all of them and we couldn’t see to fix it. Andrew came around 3:00PM and left around 10:00PM He is very devoted and try’s to fix as many problems he can but he can’t be every where the reason the jobs are contracted out to TSG.

    Comet then replaced it for the HD-D45 I had one of them for a week and it packed in Comet then just swapped it for another HD-D45 this one had the old software version on it so it had problems with the component and also the problem with the brightness.

    He came out and updated the software and he was going to replace the part that controlled the lamp but we decided we would see if the software update had fixed it.

    It didn’t fix the problem with the brightness so he came and replaced the part two weeks later which did.

    I brought the HD-D50 in December 2004 think Comet replaced it with the HD-D45 in June
     
  13. Snap

    Snap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Celle (Hannover)
    Ratings:
    +1
    I got second set and it has the problem with brightness.
    And what's worse is that the occasional flickering of the screen is now clearly seen even on RF with dark scenes (before only on PC screen) :(
     
  14. Kazman

    Kazman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Luton, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +136
    I'm crossing my fingers very tightly hoping I do not suffer the same issues.

    2nd day in and none of these issues can be found.

    Picking up the DV7600 later today :D can't wait :D
     
  15. Jamesy_UK

    Jamesy_UK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    I said to hell with priorities and ordered a Samsung SP46L6HX yesterday and booked a monday affanoon delivery..... Damn you Kaz your enthusiasm permeated the screen and made me loose my head ^^ Will keep my Sony Progressive Scan DVD player, cost me a bomb 1.5 years ago and see about whacking my PC upto it cause i got a 720p copy of matrix sitting on my HD.


    must be your close proximity to me in Luton infecting me cause im gonna be square eyed every night now;)
     
  16. Kazman

    Kazman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Luton, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +136
    Go for it :smashin:

    Tell you what though matey, was playing Tekken 5 last night, and the picture was jaw dropping!!!! It totally destroys the picture I could achieve on my old Toshie 42WH36P, soooo amazing, this TV is amazing!!!

    Got the DV7600 hooked up to it also, HDMI outputting 720p, looks superbly stunning!!!! Amazing!!! Looks even better now that I've run the Avia basic setup too.

    Fingers crossed that I do not get any issues with the set :)
     
  17. slackbladder

    slackbladder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,139
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    52
    Location:
    "London, a small village on Mars..."
    Ratings:
    +61
    Monday afternoon delivery! Cool... Still waiting for mine..2 weeks!
    Anyway, great to hear how good it is Kazman. Let's see if the Samsung SP46 I'm getting (someday) will have the same effect on me when I try Tekken 5!
     
  18. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is "AVIA"?


    dog-man
     
  19. slackbladder

    slackbladder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,139
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    52
    Location:
    "London, a small village on Mars..."
    Ratings:
    +61
    It's this link
     
  20. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    As well as the darkening problem, and intermittent muffled / vibtating sound problem, it has developed yet another fault.

    Today, 3 times, Whilst flicking through terresrtial channels, whilst the channel actually changed and you could visible see the correct channels, the sound stayed as ITV. The sound also sounded like someone was continually rustling a paper bag. The only way out was to power down and back on again.

    Anyone experienced this?

    As time goes on, I am thinking more and more like this television is crap!



    dog-man
     
  21. Snap

    Snap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Celle (Hannover)
    Ratings:
    +1
    no such problems on two sets during a month, dog-man.

    I still didn't get any responce about flickering issue.
    Does anybody have screen flickering for a few seconds couple of times per day?
    As soon as i switch from ECO mode to normal it's gone. but it can go away by itself.
     
  22. kmhtkmhtkmht

    kmhtkmhtkmht
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why are you watching it on Eco Mode....
     
  23. Snap

    Snap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Celle (Hannover)
    Ratings:
    +1
    ?
    to prolongate the bulb life. i think that is the only reason for this setting. and better black lever, but only slightly.
     
  24. sprattgraham

    sprattgraham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
    Ratings:
    +28
    I think 3 or 4 people have talked about the screen flickering problem in other Threads.

    Like i've said in all of them there is a Fix.

    I don't know how that is possible it can only tune to one Freq at a time.

    Every manufacture makes a TV that has a fault or in your case faults.
     
  25. Snap

    Snap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Celle (Hannover)
    Ratings:
    +1
    I found only Ruby's horisontal flickering problem and he solved it by moving cables avay from AC cords. another one is Axium 50 and the guy returned the set.
    What i have is not dependant on any source. even the white info bar is flickering while changing channels. and then it's gone after 5-15 seconds.
     
  26. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also have the flickering / shimmering problem. Not too sure how to describe it.

    It, like the other problems is intermittent and bloody annoying.

    I don't use ECO mode anymore as it is far worse on that setting. I would like to use ECO mode to prolong the life of the bulb, as is the intention of this setting.



    dog-man
     
  27. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by dog-man
    Today, 3 times, Whilst flicking through terresrtial channels, whilst the channel actually changed and you could visible see the correct channels, the sound stayed as ITV. The sound also sounded like someone was continually rustling a paper bag. The only way out was to power down and back on again.


    I don't know how that is possible it can only tune to one Freq at a time.
    >>>>>>>>>>>>


    I can assure you it happened three times today.

    I was flicking through the terrestrial channels and the sound stayed from ITV, but the picture displayed was of the channel selected, ie: BBC1, BBC2 etc.
    The sound was muffled and it was as if someone was rustling a paper bag very loudly.

    It did not matter if I selected channels by number or by up and down.

    Only way out was to power down and then back on.


    dog-man
     
  28. Kazman

    Kazman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Luton, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +136
    No issues on my side yet either :)

    Just glorious pictures!! :D

    dog-man, I think you have been unlucky in gettng a dud, hope Sagem and the retailer sort it soon for you mate.
     
  29. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    To be fair to the retailer (AVWOW). they have agreed that I am entitled to a refund or replacement, I have no problems with them, but I stupidly agreed to a repair after talking to Andrew Gorman. I have waited a long time for this repair and there is no indication of when it will happen, so I am not very happy with Sagem's service department.

    If there is nothing definite this week, then it goes back for a refund. There is no way I am going to risk a replacement after what I have been through.



    dog-man
     
  30. Kazman

    Kazman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Luton, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +136
    Yup, AVWow were great, good communication and service.

    It was due to Sagems processing time that the TV got to me on Friday rather than earlier in the week.

    The pictures are so solid on this TV, fantastic! Loving every minute of it :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...