SAGEM Buffer ?

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by Gregoo, Sep 1, 2007.

Tags:
  1. Gregoo

    Gregoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    576
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +20
    I want to buy a new freeveiw twin tuner box.I see argos is selling a Sagem twin tuner for £100 ish ! My question is does it have a buffer at the end of recordings from the guide page.I want to go to the EPG sellect the program I want to record and not worry about a program over run and miss the end.?
    All the best Greg..
     
  2. Gregoo

    Gregoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    576
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +20
    Hey !...bump..
     
  3. alnwrd

    alnwrd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    323
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    boston
    Ratings:
    +25
    I do not know about the sagem but the latest Humax software suggests that you can do just that. However it does not work. You will need a sagem user running the latest software update to confirm whether it offers this and if it works.
     
  4. Gregoo

    Gregoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    576
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +20
    Thank you I do have a Humax .But it is the Argos Sagem twin tuner I am interested in ,regarding a buffer at the end of a recorded program using the EPG to record and not miss the end due to an over run.!

    All the best Greg..
     
  5. alnwrd

    alnwrd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    323
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    boston
    Ratings:
    +25
    I was not suggesting that you get the Humax but merely pointing out that you cannot rely on the manufacturer's info about the machine. The Sagem may boast a buffer but if you want to be certain that it works the way they claim then ask a Sagem user. Some time ago I bought a Panasonic PVR who's sofware never worked. After many phone calls and emails, Panasonic abandoned the machine hence that is another manufacturer on my black list.
    I hope you find what you are looking for.
     
  6. Gregoo

    Gregoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    576
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +20
    Ask a Sagem user ! Thats just what I am asking for on the forum,a reply from a Sagem user.
    Thanks Greg.
     
  7. Gregoo

    Gregoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    576
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +20
    A very nice sunset bump..!
    All the best Greg..
     
  8. gerabold

    gerabold
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    My experience of Sagem is that, if selecting a program from the EPG to record is important, then having a buffer is the least of your worries. The model I had got an over-the-air update - since then the EPG has simply not worked at all, effectively making it a doorstop. Customer support have been a waste of time and money. Then there are all the other issues with frequest crashing, disk space going missing, failed recordings. etc.
     

Share This Page

Loading...