1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sagem Axium Vs Toshiba 46WM48

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by ashleyhyatt@mac, Jan 3, 2005.

1. ashleyhyatt@mac

ashleyhyatt@mac

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, This is my first time in this forum. I have read a lot of your threads and thought I would create this one for some advice. Hope you can all help !

I know I may be repeating some things that have already been mentioned and I am sorry for this.

I have just purchased a Sagem Axium from John Lewis. It was the display model and was in mint condition. I got it for £1895 and got the stand included for free !!!

I have since then seen the Toshiba 46WM48 in Costco. I used to work in Costco and know about there return policies. You can take anything back whenever you like !!! I have had 4 tv's the past 3 years :devil: I am now tempted by the Toshiba from Costco.

The Sagem Axium has been brilliant except for a little ghosting on white text etc. Has anyone else experienced this problem ? I am using an Xbox and a DVD player through composite. Ghosting also appeared when i plugged my PC in using the VGA connection on the front.

As I have been reading through the the other threads I have become worried and confused about certain issues... (Please treat me as a complete newbie to HDTV, sorry if I sound dumb)

1. What is HDMI Connectivity ?

2. What is the difference between the HD2+ to the HD2 and is anything else planned within the near future ?

3. How do Contrast Ratios work / what do they mean ? Costco list the Toshiba as 1000:1

4. What is the difference between a 6, 7 or an 8 Segment Colour Wheel and what does it do ?

5 What is HDCP ?