Sagem Axium / Toshiba 46WM48 with Telewest

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by bassett, Jan 5, 2005.

1. bassett

bassett
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having finally decided against a plasma I have narrowed my choice down to one of the above 2 sets, both of which seem to have some great reviews on this forum.
    However, everyone seems to have Sky or Sky+. I have Telewest and would like to hear from anyone that has one of these sets fed by a Telewest signal. How good is the picture? What is the best way to connect a Telewest box to the set?
    Am I correct in thinking that the DVI input on the Sagem supports HDCP and is therefore future-proof when HDTV broadcasts begin (I'm a newbie to a/v technology so please forgive if I've got my acronyms confused!)
    Ant input would be greatly appreciated :D

2. Billy Hunt

Billy Hunt

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +98
    No the Sagem doesn't support HDCP.
    The problem people have with Sky is that some channels are broadcast on a very low bandwidth which gives a poor picture.
    Any large screen TV is just going to show up the poor quality more than a smaller screen TV.
    I don't know what the quality is like that telewest transmit have you ever noticed any problems with them on a large screen TV before?

3. bassett

bassett
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Billy,
    So from your comments does that mean the Sagem will have a problem receiving Hi-def broadcasts?
    I only have a 32" TV today and am happy with the Telewest signal.
    thx

4. Billy Hunt

Billy Hunt

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +98
    If the Hi Def source is provided by means of a HDMI connection then yes.
    The current specs from Sky use a HDMI connection, thats for their HDTV broadcasts which are planned to start in 2006.