Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Sagem axium HD-D45 in the UK??

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by Bruce1310, Dec 8, 2004.

  1. Bruce1310

    Bruce1310
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Aylesbury, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +69
    The press release on this one came out a couple of months ago. As yet, they haven't even released the English translation, so I think it is likely to be a while yet before this set is ready for release. Bear in mind that the retailers of the current Sagem set still have stock of this model to sell on before they can start selling the updated versions. I visited a Comet recently where they were in the process of 'pulling out all the stops' to try and flog some more Sagems. They were connecting up a Denon DVD via prog-scan, surround system etc (in addition to the Hi Def demo already running).
     
  3. TonyA

    TonyA
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +217
    Hi AV Junky,

    The above link is the English version of the document!

    So it may be more imminent than previously thought.
     
  4. Wij

    Wij
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,082
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northants
    Ratings:
    +45
    Looks really nice,wonder when that is due :)


    Sean
     
  5. phetttt

    phetttt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks amazing! I want one!!
     
  6. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +69
    So it is! Was mislead by the French URL link. Perhaps we are getting somewhere on this model?

    Let's hope they don't just sell through Comet this time!
     
  7. Bruce1310

    Bruce1310
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Aylesbury, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +0
    From translating some of the French sites (my French is poor) it would appear a release is emminent over there.

    Question: Supposing a UK release was not forth coming, are there any compatability issues with bringing one over from France?? What should one be aware of? Comments appreciated.
     
  8. Notchy

    Notchy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There appears to be no HMDI input, any ideas why?
     
  9. Capt Morgan

    Capt Morgan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    HDMI via DVI with HDCP was my take on the spec.......
     
  10. Notchy

    Notchy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Humm, wouldn't touch anything anless it has the HMDI connections. This is the only method according to the websites (see earlier posting) that allows uncompress video and sound direct digital from DVD to TV etc to get maximum performance. On the website just about every manufacture is adopting this new advance 'scart' lead system. Also note that Sky HD for 2006 are looking at this as the main connection as well other less superior ones. Remember in order for sky to make money on HD which is a hugh cost at a major loss to start with they will want to deliver a picture that will get of lot of people buying into the new HD technologly. :smoke:
     
  11. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    The only thing you won't get with DVI (HDCP) that you would with HDMI is audio. However, a TV with two basic speakers will get exactly zero advantage from an 8-channel digital audio feed!! Run analogue audio from the HD set, your Home Cinema amp is what needs a HDMI socket not the telly.
     
  12. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +69
    Well said Liam. Am amazed that people are still getting hung-up on the DVI (HDCP) and HDMI thing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice