1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SAGEM 27" LCD TV £699 ON QVC

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by peahead, Jul 24, 2005.

  1. peahead

    peahead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +264
    Qvc are doing the sagem 27" lcd tv for £699 thats £300 pound less than i paid for mine. :eek:
     
  2. Dazzle

    Dazzle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    It looks pretty nice, but you can get a 30" Viewsonic for the same price?? What's SAGEM like as a make, not heard of them like I've heard of Philips/Sony/Toshiba/Sharp etc...
     
  3. peahead

    peahead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +264
  4. Dazzle

    Dazzle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Cheers, anyone out there that has a SAGEM LCD TV - It looks pretty nice to view, but is the picture quality only has good as what you feed into it???
     
  5. Vern

    Vern
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    Very tempting, either to replace our 24" CRT in the bedroom or as a temporary measure to kick out our crumby Sammy 42" plasma, until the new Toshiba LCD's (32" or 37") come out in September. One or two snags though. The Sagem site doesn't mention NTSC compatability also it's DVI sockets rather than HDMI.
     
  6. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +527
    According to QVC it has DVI & HDMI :nono:
     
  7. peahead

    peahead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +264
    I have the tv and can confirm its dvi only and the tv is ntsc compatable. :smashin:
     
  8. Vern

    Vern
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    Order gone in...

    Will use it to kick out the lousy Sammy PS42V4S into the secondhand columns of the free ad paper then when the Toshy 37WLT58 comes out will move it upstairs!
     
  9. Dazzle

    Dazzle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'll watch the 5pm airing, to find out what connections it has. They shouldn't state that the TV has both DVI and HDMI when it doesn't, it's misleading. I may be tempted to order one, specially as it's x2 easy payments. :)

    Aren't DVI and HDMI basically the same thing???
     
  10. phetttt

    phetttt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah but dvi does not have sound.

    I hope this is good one cos I've just ordered one!

    anyway the average reviews from home cinema choice review section are 4-5/5. One point although, what is the response time on this tv?
     
  11. phetttt

    phetttt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Originally Posted by peahead

    i have taken some pictures of my sagem tv hope it works never posted pictures before.

    http://img288.imageshack.us/img_vie...dscf01485cm.jpg

    Thanks peahead for the pics!! Is the fps you have shown Half Life? It looks superb

    If so im building a pc too!!

    Have you tried it with an upscaling dvd player too? I have a Denon 1910 with dvi and I hope it justifies my impatience to find a compatible hdtv.
     
  12. the blue angel

    the blue angel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    my tele is to big would i loose picture quality getting a lcd
     
  13. the blue angel

    the blue angel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  14. peahead

    peahead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +264
    Hi blue angel

    you wont loose picture quality lcd looks great with a good source better than crt in most departments.
     
  15. peahead

    peahead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +264
    Hi phetttt

    The response time of the sagem is 15ms and thats from the horses mouth.i have the samsung hd-950 comeing next week but have been useing my pc to watch dvds with the lcd set at its native res of 1280x720 and its better than my normal dvdplayer by miles.
     
  16. carphone

    carphone
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    after watching the 5pm viewing I am very close to making an order for this set. Would just like to know the following if anyone can help.

    Is having no hdmi input a big disadvantage? (has got dvi)
    Is this set regarded as a better quality picture than the new 26/32 samsung sets?

    The Picture and picture facility (pap) has really sold me. The idea of having my pc picture side by side with a tv channel looks great. Can anyone comment on the quality of this feature?

    cheers

    Dan
     
  17. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    20,230
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +7,104
    Does anyone know what the actual screen size of this is? I know it says 27" but would be interested to know height/width to compare with my current one.
     
  18. dsb

    dsb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    no HDMI means that you wont be able to take advantage of the best quality way of connectiing hi-def sky and the forthcoming hi def replacement for dvd - i.e connecting digitally.
    that's unless the dvi port it has supports encryption - if it does then fine, if not then think twice.
     
  19. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +527
    There are three reviews on this website!!

    The PC Picture and Picture mode seems to be quite rare on LCD TV so is a big plus.

    From the reviews I have seen....it will be as least as good as the Samsung.
     
  20. the blue angel

    the blue angel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    WHAT MODEL IS THIS ON QVC IS IT

    sagem axium hd l27
    sagem hd L27
     
  21. the blue angel

    the blue angel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ACCORDING TO QVC AS I HAVE JUST PHONED THEM UP THIS IS THE sagem axium hd l27 WHICH DOES HAVE THE HDMI INPUT IT IS THE sagem hd L27 WHICH ONLY HAS DVI IN
     
  22. carphone

    carphone
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  23. the blue angel

    the blue angel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    PEE YOU MUST HAVE THE OLDER sagem hd L27 AS THIS MODEL ON QVC IS THE sagem axium hd l27 WHIC DOES HAVE THE HDMI CAN YOU LET ME NO THE MODEL NUMBER YOU HAVE
    CHEERS STEVE
     
  24. carphone

    carphone
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    well qvc clai it does have hdmi on the show, but looking at the sagem website

    it shows the following image:

    [​IMG]
     
  25. RDA

    RDA
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    The Sagem web site shows a connectivity diagram for the Axium HD L27 on the following page which clearly does not have an HDMI input socket :

    http://www.sagem.com/nso/uk/eng/spec/axium/en/produits-en/axium-en/hd-27_2-en.htm#
     
  26. RDA

    RDA
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Beat me to it ! :clap:
     
  27. peahead

    peahead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +264
    My model is the axium hd-l27 and that is the only 27" lcd they make as for the hdmi input qvc have got it wrong checkout the sagem website http://www.sagem.com/nso/uk/eng/. The dvi input is compatable with hdmi products anyway so its not a problem when sky launch there hd service.
     
  28. the blue angel

    the blue angel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow This Is Getting A Big Reply Post
     
  29. carphone

    carphone
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    bit the bullet and order one! lets give it a try! :))

    cheers all

    dan
     
  30. Dazzle

    Dazzle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Surely you would have every right to send it back (not that you would, once you got it!!) if you found out it didn't have an HDMI input, like QVC has originally stated it had.

    So is this QVC price the cheapest anyone can find on this LCD TV?? ;)

    Edit: Sorry just read this on another website about the DVI input.
    I'm very tempted to get this TV now. :smashin:

    Ah!! another Edit: I've just realised if you need the DVI port to connect a future HD Sky Digi Set Top Box, how you then connect your PC to the TV?? :confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...