safe or not?

dazca1

Established Member
Reaction score
Can anyone help?
I have never done any online gaming before, so I downloaded game spy, when I try 2 get on a game my firewall keeps blocking.
Is it safe 2 turn it off while playing?
There are many attempts(trojans) from people 2 get in 2 my PC while it is enabled, will they be able 2 if its off?
I love my gaming but this is a worry for me, thats why ive never had an online game.

You will have to look at the instructions for your firewall on how to allow port forwarding.

This essentially means that you tell your firewall to allow certain port numbers or ranges (what a game communicates over) to bypass the firewall. This is very safe.

However never turn your firewall off! Even within 10-15mins you can be hit MSBlast viruses etc.

What router/firewall do you have and what games are you trying to play someone may be able to give you instructions :)

Seeing this post reminds me, I meant to ask whether having a Wireless router is sufficient to stop viruses etc ?? I have minimal knowledge on firewalls etc?

Matt

Originally posted by Malone
Seeing this post reminds me, I meant to ask whether having a Wireless router is sufficient to stop viruses etc ?? I have minimal knowledge on firewalls etc?

Matt

No; however it will stop the virus issues that some people suffered due to the MS exploit that allowed it to connect to your machine without u doing anything.

Viruses usually infect yourmachine because you opened / ran a file that was not what it seemed to be - ie something u downloaded, or an infected email that had an attachment u ran.
Either get yourself a virus scanner - or simply don't open and click everything you get sent in email that you don't 100% trust - that goes for downloading utilities and files off the internet: stick to offical sites and you should be reasonably safe.