sacd on sony 3200es with denon 1930

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by carldavis11, May 1, 2007.

Tags:
  1. carldavis11

    carldavis11
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    The dvd plays the cd fine, but no sound comes through the amp, I have it connected via hdmi and I have tried all the settings on the dvd player.
    Its a right pain to get behind to try a optical lead which I didnt think I would need anyway as the dvd player lets me select multichannel over hdmi, and it has played a depeche mode multichannel audio cd.

    Any help? is it the amp, the dvd player or me....

    Thanks
    Carl
     
  2. ChristianBeccy

    ChristianBeccy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    297
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    I'm going through this phase of trying desperately to understand the connectivity side, so forgive me if I am off-the-mark, but I didn't think HDMI carried sound? I thought you had to run Digital Optical or similar for the audio aspect?
     
  3. carldavis11

    carldavis11
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    hdmi does carry sound and if i understand correct its has more bandwidth than optical, which is one of the great things about connecting a ps3 to one of these amps so that you can get 7.1 lpcm.

    I also get everything from the dvd player over hdmi, dd, dts, 2 channel and a multi channel dvd audio.

    the sacd just wont play any sound
     
  4. Smurkenstein

    Smurkenstein
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
    surround sacd wont play through optical - not normally, DRM etc - stereo, perhaps, but not surround.....
     
  5. charliecossie

    charliecossie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Frankfurt
    Ratings:
    +26
    To pass SACD over HDMI requires HDMI v1.2.
    Denon owners manuals are rubbish but a short read should confirm the need to buy/use 6 cables between player and receiver.
     
  6. sk8

    sk8
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    556
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    B&NES
    Ratings:
    +17
    connected mine up via external inputs
     

Share This Page

Loading...