1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SACD connection help!

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by epicdream, Jun 6, 2005.

  1. epicdream

    epicdream
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South Cambs/North Herts border
    Ratings:
    +33
    Ok,

    Like an idiot I went out and bought the cheap Sony SACD 597 player to experience the delights of SACD 5.1... :)

    Only to find out that the 5.1 will only output via the analogue 5.1 channel out on the back of the player and not through the optical digital out. :eek:

    Ordinarily not a problem if I owned a 5.1 channel amp. BUT I was intending to pump the optical in, into my Meridian 568 which, of course, doesn't have 5.1 channel phono in!!!

    So the obvious question is, is there anyway of getting 5.1 into the Meridian (maybe some Analogue to Digital skullduggerry?) or have I just bought a lemon? :suicide:

    Any help (and insults) would be appreciated!!! :lease:

    Neill
     
  2. deanym

    deanym
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +141
    you can output sacd as stereo, which will sound fine although not multichannel. Otherwise, something which has 5.1 input to match up will be required.

    You haven't bought a lemon, but you need to add some sauce to get it right.
     
  3. sput2001

    sput2001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +9
    Yup, if you want SACD surround sound you need an AV amp with 6-channel input.
     
  4. epicdream

    epicdream
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South Cambs/North Herts border
    Ratings:
    +33
    Thanks for the help, I kind of knew deep inside the only way to go is to have a separate 6 channel-in amp... :(

    Looks like iam going to have to enjoy it in plain old stereo!!

    Doh!!!
     
  5. BigT

    BigT
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Fareham, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    It’s no loss.

    Bought a Pioneer 565 a few years ago as I got very exited about SACD.

    Only thing about it my Arcam 7se knocks any SACD disc for 6.
     
  6. sput2001

    sput2001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +9
    I've got an Arcam Alpha 9 and a Pioneer 565, and given the choice I'd listen to the SACD of Dark Side Of The Moon on the Pioneer and get the surround sound. Superb.

    All a matter of preference, I guess.
     

Share This Page

Loading...