SACD and DVD-A on MCE?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by URL, Nov 2, 2005.

  1. URL

    URL
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +54
    Hi Folks

    Sorry if this is a daft question, but will MCE play SACD and DVD-A with the corresponding compatible hardware/software?

    Do you need extra codecs?

    I assume a "normal" CD player will not play SACD due to the second layer - or do standard DVD players manage this on a SACD?

    There are so many multichannel audio disks out there now!

    Any help is much appreciated.

    DJ
     
  2. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +206
    SACD = NO

    DVDA = yes as long as you have a creative audigy zs card with a WinDVD or PowerDVD codecs.
     
  3. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    Well WIN DVD 6/7 or Creative DVD Audio Player
     
  4. URL

    URL
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +54
    Thanks guys..

    I am half way there... my two MCE boxes have Audigy ZS's..... that was a result!

    So I guess there is NO WAY to play SACD on a PC?

    I thought there must be some way....

    DJ
     
  5. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    Doesn't WIndows Media Player have an option for playing back Hi-Def Audio Cd's...
     
  6. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    SACD has been purposely designed to be unplayable on pc's to reduce chances of people making digital copies. Some hardware comes DVD-Audio capable. The weird thing is Creative hardware does not have a great reputation amongst those who specialise in music on their pcs, so the gamers who do gravitate towards Creative are paying for licenses they normally would not use!

    HDCD will play back on any cd player, it just depends on if the cd player has been modified to take advantage of the extra resolution. Perhaps that has been built into Media Player.
     
  7. URL

    URL
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +54
    Thanks for the replies Guys...

    Cable Monkey - I had not thought of that angle... you can see what they were thinking....

    Given that several of the high end players in the highfi market actually use a "std" IDE DVD drive in thier players there must be a way of reading the disk.... I guess codecs are the next inline.

    The high end players will probably have thier own custom firmware to let the drive play it. I wonder how close a DVD player actually is to being able to read the other layer on a SACD....

    I guess the easiest route would be to pick up a "cheap" universal DVD player... or even a second hand Pio 686, which from memory will play SACD....

    DJ
     
  8. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Bahrain
    Ratings:
    +141
    :eek: Ummm .... my Aerosmith SACD played fine inside Mediaplayer :confused: I didn't need to install any extra codecs or stuff that I recall either, it just worked. :thumbsup: I did already have lots installed though .... hmmm ... thinking about it, maybe I did play it inside WinDVD or summint. Either way, it definetley played fine on my PC.



    :get out of jail: It was a long time ago though that I purchased it. Don't even know where the disk is now :rotfl:
     
  9. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    To increase the appeal of SACD, most have a cd layer on them that any cd player will playback in stereo. The SACD layer cannot be seen by a normal cd player because a part of the cd that identifies itself to the drive, telling it is a cd/dvd/dvd-a is left blank. It then has to be de-encrypted by the player itself, a fact that is licensed out and tightly controled.
     
  10. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Bahrain
    Ratings:
    +141
    :rotfl: :eek: This may indeed explain why I wondered what all the fuss was about and why it didn't seem to sound any better to me!

    :rotfl:
     

Share This Page

Loading...