Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

S97 firmware

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by steve0, Apr 3, 2005.

  1. steve0

    steve0
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    762
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +32
    I have upgraded to the 536 firmware and I was wondering is it worth upgrading to 540 has anyone had any issues with it, also is it worth buying a more expensive HDMI cable as opposed to the one that came with the player, will I notice much of a difference.

    Also what setting are the best for PQ quality Auto Cinema ect. Thanks in advance
     
  2. Astaroth

    Astaroth
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,653
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +882
    there are reported problems with 540 on PAL 720p mode - if you use this then hang back, but if not then you may as well upgrade (though remember you cant downgrade at a later date)
     
  3. steve0

    steve0
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    762
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +32
    what problems are there
     
  4. skip

    skip
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    usually a pixel or two drop at the right hand side of the screen. search the forum it has been well documented in quite a few threads.
     
  5. mheller

    mheller
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    I have installed the 541 Firmware Update on a UK machine and Pal pixel drop is now corrected. It does not affect your multi region status, and im convinced the picture quality is [​IMG] even better than 540 or 536.

    Search AV FORUMS for the 541 update.
     
  6. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,312
    The latest version fixes the pixel drop problem. And it makes a huge increase in the picture quality - it made the difference between me sending the player back and then deciding not to after I saw the upgrade.
     
  7. stanleyntl

    stanleyntl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    809
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Worthing, Sussex
    Ratings:
    +44
    Is there any point in applying 541 if using RGB scart? :confused:
     
  8. Ian C.

    Ian C.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +40
    Is the 541 Firmware still available anywere,downloaded
    a file off avsforums but not got a clue how to extract it.
    536 was no problem but cant find 541 anywere.
    Thanks in advance
     
  9. katgra

    katgra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +8
  10. Ian C.

    Ian C.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +40
    Thanks katgra got it now :thumbsup:
     
  11. stanleyntl

    stanleyntl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    809
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Worthing, Sussex
    Ratings:
    +44
    How do you check what firmware you have?
    Also what indicates multi-region status?
     
  12. Ian C.

    Ian C.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +40
    I'm only connected via scart ,536 at moment but will update
    with 541 although dont think it will make a lot of difference.
     
  13. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,312
    Upgrade, it makes a big difference for block noise!
     
  14. Ian C.

    Ian C.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +40
    That was my next question does anyone think
    its made a noticeable improvement,good news :smashin:
     
  15. expat

    expat
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +40
    Ancient firmware version on new player

    I received a multiregion S97 from a German Internet dealer last Friday. I checked the firmware version last night according to the instructions on the AVS forum. The following was displayed:

    86H360

    This means I've got firmware version 360, right? Should I send the player back for a refund? I'm actually quite happy with the picture (HDMI connection at 720p to a Panny TH-42PV500E).
     
  16. Mark_a

    Mark_a
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +617
    Wouldn't it be easier just to download and whack in the latest firmware yourself? What I did when I got exactly the same from Richer Sounds. In fact I've upped the firmware twice since getting it. No problems whatsoever.

    Regards

    Mark
     
  17. guli

    guli
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    How much did it cost you in total for the s97?

    THanks

    Alex

     
  18. richardb70

    richardb70
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5,028
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +2,266
    No, the 360 is a different firmware path to the 541 (they've recently tinkered with the hardware, it seems), but I think you can upgrade to 362 although don't quote me on that.
     
  19. expat

    expat
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +40
    Thanks, richardb70, that's reassuring news. I think I won't tinker with the firmware for a while (if it ain't broke, don't fix it :lesson: ). And I won't return the player either (stupid idea that was, I admit :rolleyes: ).
     
  20. expat

    expat
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +40
    I paid 363 EUR including S&H and COD charges for a multiregion S97. Delivery was reasonably prompt (within a week), but I can't really vouch for the dealer. I had never heard of them before, and can only hope they'll stay in business for the next two years. I understand British dealers are selling the player for quite a bit less, but if they don't have any in stock, what good are their low prices?
    For all you brave souls dying to purchase an S97, here's the dealer I used (they do international shipping, but that will of course increase the cost):
    http://www.tsn-cd.de/
     
  21. steve24855

    steve24855
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pontypool South Wales
    Ratings:
    +0
  22. expat

    expat
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +40
  23. stanleyntl

    stanleyntl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    809
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Worthing, Sussex
    Ratings:
    +44
    Have you looked in London/South West Regions for S97?
    Both regions have 7 players each. Won't do mail order though! :thumbsdow
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice