1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S.W.A.T problems

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by stevepr, Jan 22, 2004.

  1. stevepr

    stevepr
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am sorry if this a duplicate thread, but has anyone got the SWAT Region 1 and had problems getting past the 'Sony does not agree with commets' etc. initial screen

    I have a HK 30 and the only way to get the disc to play is by using the scene selection process.

    I have mentioned the make of the player as my son also has a HK and he gets the same problem
     
  2. johndickinson

    johndickinson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    Nope my R1 works in my Pioneer player
     
  3. dave_b9000

    dave_b9000
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe the SWAT disc is RCE, that may be causing the problem
     
  4. chris6364

    chris6364
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    One thing i did notice with my copy, it did play fine right the way through, but in the subtitled bit (in the horrible Tristar Player Genertated YELLOW!) it shows english at the bottom of the screen and french at the top!

    Anyone else had this or is this to do with my player settings? Both are Sony players (a DVP-NS930 downstairs and a DVD-NS730 in my bedroom).
     
  5. ABC1

    ABC1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Near Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +34
    Have an HK 25 and have absolutely no problems with this disc.
     
  6. jelly

    jelly
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    no probs whatsoever with the rdr gx7
     
  7. Lex

    Lex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have never heard of such a thing - what exactly does it say? :confused:
     
  8. Attu

    Attu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    809
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    No problems for me, well apart from when the FBI warnings come on in English and French there is some strange banding across some of the lines of words but the film is fine.

    Ohhh forgot to say thats playing it on a cheep Philips with a remote control regon hack, Ive also got a Sony 635 but never got round to having it chiped

    Andy
     
  9. chris6364

    chris6364
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think he means on the tv screen, you get the columbia titles, then the menu. When you click play, it then brings up a disclaimer stating that the commentaries and comments are those of the individuals and do not represent the thoughts of Columbia Tristar legal blah blah...rubbish.

    Just a thought. Have you tried stopping playback then playing again, sometimes it 'unlocks' the 'freeze', had to do this with my old tosh player on some US titles.
     
  10. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,736
    After managing to sit through this, I wished my player didn't play RCE discs.
     
  11. SteveRSF

    SteveRSF
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    No probs either pioneer 717
     
  12. CVT

    CVT
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tried to play my new R1 SWAT on my sony 735 chipped player but all I get is a message saying 'This disc will not play on modified players please rent or buy for the correct region' I've had the player for 5 years without any problems. SWAT plays fine on my hacked Hyundai in the bedroom. IS the chip knackered in my Sony or have the film industry finally managed to come up with something to stop the use of chipped players. Advice please ?:mad:
     
  13. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,111
    Fine on both my a350 and HTPC.
    I quite liked it : just a lightweight old-fashioned cop actioner
     

Share This Page

Loading...