1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S-Video Vs Scart

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by qwiksilver, Oct 12, 2005.

  1. qwiksilver

    qwiksilver
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know in order worst -> best PQ:

    RF -> Composite -> S-Video -> Component -> HDMI

    Where does Scart & DVI come in this? And what's the differece between Component BNC & RCA?
     
  2. marcw

    marcw
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My understanding is that a fully wired (RGB) SCART is between S-Video and Component. A non fully wired SCART is merely another way of transmitting composite (or even S-Video) information.

    DVI is currently pretty much the same as HDMI but doesn't have the capability to transmit audio data along with the video data, I think. Although I think HDMI has higher bandwidth capabilities - anyone care to correct me - I think I may be wrong on the bandwidth issue...... :S
     
  3. Blue Triangles

    Blue Triangles
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +79
    Is component quality really better than RGB scart?
     
  4. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Generally true, but not always. Component can be better than HDMI on certain display devices. Pre 8 series Panasonic plasmas for instance.

    Non fully wired scart may be wired for RGB only or even S-video only. If wired for RGB only it should be better than an S-video connection, but again it depends on how well your display device handles the alternatives.

    HDMI / DVI - 10 bit over HDMI versus 8 bit over DVI from what I have read, but I too may be wrong on that and I haven't seen any difference so far (3 weeks in from having both, though changing boards is a major performance!).
     
  5. wonderloaf

    wonderloaf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +6
    It is on my Hitachi :D
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Precisely the point Piers was making, it depends how your screen handles the signals. Hitachi scart is no great shakes, and it's not alone in this 'weakness', XDE suffers too, and of course the Panasonic scart video board for panels is very soft too. So component video appears to shine disproportionately.
     
  7. VTR

    VTR
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Devon, England
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmmm, I'm thinking of replacing my currnet, cheapo, scart cable, but I'm not sure whether to go for a fully wired RGB scart to scart or a scart to component?

    You say that Panasonic video boards are a bit soft, does this apply to the PV500's, or is it just with the panel version?
     
  8. acrmorris

    acrmorris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    East Grinstead
    Ratings:
    +0
    MAW, if I'm running a fully wired scart from a Panasonic DVD recorder to a pv500 AV1 input, does that mean it defaults to the better quality connection (RGB). In the absence of an HDMI output on the DVD source, would I get a noticeable difference using component cables? I am using a mid quality IXOS cable.
     
  9. jwramsay

    jwramsay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West of Scotland
    Ratings:
    +70
    Scart is a transport medium, and can't be compared to S-Video.

    i.e. A 21 pin scart cable can be configured to carry composite video, RGB or S-Video.

    Pinout for Input 3 of the Pioneer 436 XDE Media Receiver which is user selectable for any of the above 3 modes is:

    1. Audio Right out
    2) Audio Right in
    3) Audio left out
    4) Common earth for audio
    5) Earth
    6) Audio Left in
    7) BLUE input
    8) Audio-Video control
    9) Earth
    10) AV Link control
    11) GREEN input
    12) Not used
    13) Earth
    14) Not Used
    15) RED input or Chroma S-Video input
    16) RED/GREEN/BLUE control
    17) Earth for video
    18) Earth
    19) Video output
    20) Video input or S-Video input
    21) Plug shield

    Both ends of the SCART need to be configured in the same way. You can see that when RGB is selected pin 20 is still free to carry composite too.
     
  10. jwramsay

    jwramsay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West of Scotland
    Ratings:
    +70
    It doesn't default to anything, ie. both pieces of equipment don't "negotiate" their best mode as either end of the link.

    The default settings for each piece of equipment may be different. Its up to you to read the manuals and set them both appriopriately. i.e. RGB where possible.

    Component would give you the best picture quality, and progressive scan, which SCART will never do. Try the PC World website they have a Belkin component cable for 7.49 if you reserve and collect (25 quid if you walk in off the street).
     
  11. kamaran

    kamaran
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    Is it a good cable, worth me driving 30 mile round trip for?
     
  12. jwramsay

    jwramsay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West of Scotland
    Ratings:
    +70
    I bought 2 to allow me to switch my XBOX and Pio 575 through my 1014 amp and it does what it says on the tin. Thick cables usually mean good quality. (I'm not a cable officiado, but seems fine for the price).

    REMEMBER you must order off the net for instore collection. If you just walk through the door its 25 quid.
     

Share This Page

Loading...