1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

s-video vs component

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by majec, Jul 23, 2005.

  1. majec

    majec
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just bought LG 42 PX4 RV plasma ,very happy indeed , and only today i tried a component connection directly from Yamaha DVD-S540 using progressive scan
    instead s-video fed from Yamaha RX-V740 amp and to my surprise not only i haven,t notice any improvement but i felt it got worse. The picture is not that crispy and faces tend to be yellowish.I tried to adjust the dvd from its menu
    but couldn,t notice a big change. What is wrong ? I thought component is superior to s-video...
     
  2. Freddo14

    Freddo14
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +0
    its possible (and even likely) that the de-interlacing in your dvd player isnt as good as your panel can do, try turning progressive scan off on your dvd player and see if it yields any improvement.
     
  3. chris

    chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    romney marsh, kent, uk
    Ratings:
    +28
    I prefer an s-video signal......although i have'nt tried it on my panny 435 yet.
    But on my last TV which was a Tosh 51"RP s-video gave the better PQ to my eye's and it has been said that Tosh TV's were better with an s-video signal than an RGB signal.
    I could never notice a great difference going from s-video to component, with either interlaced or progressive, apart from the progressive signal on the Tosh used to give loads of flicker and make the wife fill sick... :D
    I've just spent the last 4 hours messing about with my Denon 2900 and Arcam DV89 connected to the 435 to see if i could tell a difference between players and evern with these too there was no great difference between running interlaced or progressive and thats with 3 different cables as well, one cost me £10 to make, another cost me £60 and the last one cost me £110 and there was no difference between them.
    Going to mess about with them connected via scart lead tommorrow, running s-video and if it looks about the same then i will leave it at that, atleast i will get the auto switching via scart.

    I think you have to be useing a big screen and projector to notice any real improvement between all the different settings.
    I've been through 4 TV's and about 8 DVD players in the last 4 years and s-video has always looked the best to me.
     
  4. majec

    majec
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks a lot Fred & Chris for your help...I killed progessive on my Yamaha and still couldn,t see a difference.The main problem is that the faces are still in the yellowish scent.I changed from Yamaha dvd to Panasonic HDD DVD and i got the same yellowish flavour of the picture.If i didn,t know from the s-video connection that it doesn,t have to be yellowish, i,d probably be happy.
    I guess i,ll have to stick to s-video and be happy forgetting "superiour" component connection till i,ll swap it for HDMI DVD...
     
  5. clarky78

    clarky78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +37
    Same problem here kinda, just went and bought a new dvd player (pioneer 585a) and through component (QED) it looks aweful, skin tones are bad, small writing almost unreadable, and blockyness around everything :/ So the players going back and i'm sticking with the 4 year old Aiwa and RGB though the freeby scart!

    Thing is, now i dunno if a new player is even worth it, and if you ask hornydragon et al, they say digital connections no better than a good component?! I'm confused..
     
  6. majec

    majec
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right, and you spend a fortune ($90 in my case for "What HI FI Best Buy component cables" (honestly ,three of them...cheap i think ...) ) and the result is poor...
     
  7. majec

    majec
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry to start like that but it was provoked ...pls see the problem and make a comment....
    After observing the forum for at least nine months i joined your forum but i couldn,t escape the feeling that the "hornydragon" :) is a very respected specialist on the subject.
     
  8. clarky78

    clarky78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +37
    Maybe, all are entitled to an opinion of their own. There are certainly many on here that are knowledgeable. But at the end of the day, they are only their own opinions, and might not necessarily reflect your own.
     
  9. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    for a different side of the argument i see a massive improvement over an already fantastic RGB signal, using component interlaced, and the same massive jump again switching to progressive. all using a cracking £80 cambridge audio dvd player and in-expensive cables!
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    interesting thread........if your plasma or any display is on generic settings (ie those that you think look good ish with S-video) when you change to a component conection you will need to set it up all over again and TBH unless you have some reference test patterns etc you are Pissing in the wind. Let me ask you did the actor have a yellow tinge to his face during filmimg? How orange is david dickenson? SO unless you have a reference you cannot hope to get the image accurate so what you may be seeing could be any number of imbalances in PQ or previous over compensation for S-video issues a yellow tinge may be a lack of red in the image, or are you just used to an overly red image???
     
  11. majec

    majec
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you Hornydragon for your comments... :) I was comparing too dvd copies of "Leon the professional" ,one from Yamaha on component and second from Panasonic HDD dvd through s-video.The face of Jean Reno was very yellow in comparison with a very natural ,we used to call it in a film school -" an eastman " tint from Panny.I did reverse the connections and got the same result(yellow through component).The settings on my plasma regarding the colour are factory preset so i,m a bit surprised that component needs any adjustments ,since it will affect a great otherwise PQ from any other sources including dvd through s-video.
     
  12. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    plasma should have different settings for each input/input type. spend time with DVE connected via component and you'll probably find component to be far superior.
     
  13. majec

    majec
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks,chedmaster...but when i,ll change the settings fof dvd it won,t affect the PQ from the tuner ?
     
  14. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    like i said the plasma should have dedicated settings for each input, i dont know your plasma but this is how most work (otherwise ISF would be pretty pointless)
     
  15. majec

    majec
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK,so i have some work to do...thanks
     
  16. clarky78

    clarky78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +37
    Well, i compared component with RGB, as S-video isn't nearly as good. But The RGB feed was definately better on both machines i used, and the older player was the best. I did try to play with the settings for component, but havent gone further than adjusting the contrast, brightness, sharpness, etc. The second page of abreviated adjustments can wait till i have more patiance :) But i am totally underwhelmed by component to the point of maybe sticking with the old Aiwa player. Or maybe it's the 'award wining' QED cable?
     
  17. majec

    majec
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, you,re 50 and think you know it all...(but you,re wrong!) i did some adjustments in my plasma and also found a special fleshtone correction (wrongly translated to my native
    polish language), so i didn,t find it at first)- btw ,the LG instruction book ,even in english is a piece of cr.. All in all ,the PQ looks great now ! So thank you all who took their time to help me with this !!! And settings stay with the input, cheers chedmaster!
     
  18. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    any time mate :)
     
  19. clarky78

    clarky78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +37
    Er... What?? did i miss something?? How can i be wrong about something i saw with my own eyes? I dont know what the hell your on about.
     
  20. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    A bit OTT mate.
     
  21. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Fleshtone correction? what the fudge is that all about???? how can there be an adjustment just for flesh tones??? the video processing would need to be incredible to pick out skin from a video source...

    Are you sure you havent found Tint control? or red balance?
     
  22. majec

    majec
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes.hornydragon ,there is a dedicated fleshtone adjustment on LG and it really works! Now Jean Reno face looks great and normal .Your suggestion to go and adjust the plasma helped me a lot since i would never suspect the need for that after switching to component( i thought factory preset should be the obvious choice...)thanks :hiya:
    btw:there is a separate tint control too on LG
     
  23. majec

    majec
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I,m so sorry - i reffered this to my ego,you know , after all these years, you (meaning myself) think you know it all ...BTW are you 50 too, clarky 78 ?
     
  24. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    well that is odd tint control os left over from early NTSC days when nixon looked green and JFK normal!!!!!!! so what the hel the flesh tone adjustment is i hav eno idea but i am scared :eek: and defaults are always useless
     
  25. majec

    majec
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes, i know what you mean .my first encounter with NTSC was back in 1982 and
    i was quite surprised to find the tint correction on my plasma actually working on PAL (!?) and i agree, it should be fine straight from the factory...i mean there should be no tint control on PAL
     

Share This Page

Loading...