1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S-video versus Scart with Panasonic 6

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by samuraijack, Feb 16, 2004.

  1. samuraijack

    samuraijack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I've recently bought a Panasonic TH-42PWD6. It's great and I'm very happy with it. I have an all-in-one DVD / 5.1 system (Mico Alma T300) which gives great pictures through component output. The picture quality of TV through my NTL (Pace) box isn't great though (grainy, with some narrow horizontal bars faintly visible at about 2" intervals up the screen). The NTL box has a Scart socket - I connect this to the monitor via a Scart plug 'thing' which has an S-video connection on it which connects to the S-video / composite video board.

    I think I can improve the quality of the picture in one of two ways - 1 - buy a better S-video cable (current one is very basic one I bought just to check things worked really), or 2, get the Scart video board for the monitor and get a decent Scart cable. Option 1 maybe 50 quid, option 2 is pushing 200 quid (130 for vid board plus decent cable). Is it definitely worth going for the Scart board? One other point - anyone know how long a Sky One etc logo would need to be on screen to cause screenburn?

    Cheers,

    Neil
     
  2. Dean

    Dean
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +190
    Hi, given the two options and outlay I would definitely go with the cheaper option 1 version. Even though I use all scart set up now via quintro+, I have used S-video extensively before and have always been happy providing that the S-video cable is a quality one, I have an IXOS S-video lead which is very good.
     
  3. Maximumbaz

    Maximumbaz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Neil, I've just got the same screen from Nexnix. I connected a NTL digibox via a Quintro using RGB, then to the PC 15 pin input using a QED Q-sync (£150) active sync extractor that comes with good quality scart to qsync and qsync to PC d-plug leads. The NTL picture quality is surprisingly good, just as good as a Pace twin freeview and superior to scart board.

    http://www.qed.co.uk/cables/sqart/qsync.html
     
  4. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    First, you're not using S-Video because NTL doesn't output S-Video via SCART - sorry! To get S-Video, you really need to convert from a higher quality source.

    However, this isn't necessarily the best way to connect digital TV to your screen. I have many customers, and myself included, who use the RGB to Plasma VGA unit to connect from digital TV and DVD players to the VGA input on the screen.

    As for screen burn, I've been running Sky through my screen for some time now, but haven't seen any evidence of screen burn. I do press the back up button to get rid of the red dot though! If you view a mixture of program material you should be fine.

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     
  5. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    I would definitely try the JS Tech RGB2VGA for NTL. Also may be worth looking at a mains filter to ensure you have a clean mains feed...

    JJ

    P.S. Dont forget to set NTL to output RGB ince you setup the RGB2VGA converter...
     
  6. samuraijack

    samuraijack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks to all who replied.

    I had a look at the RGB2VGA on the js website, can I just check how I would set it up - I'd connect the NTL box to it via a Scart lead, then connect it to the monitor with a VGA cable and to my DVD / 5.1 box for sound using two other leads?

    I take it I'd have to switch the cable over whenever I want to use my PC with the monitor?

    Any recommendations on the mains filter?

    Cheers,

    Neil
     
  7. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Yep, although you may be better to connect the NTL phono outputs direct to your amp rather than through the JS Tech.

    Yep, unfortunately so. If this is a real pain, you could consider just getting a scart input for NTL on the Panny, but this may not give you the best possible result, picture wise.

    As for mains conditioners, check out the recent thread to do with Panny interference...

    JJ
     
  8. Maximumbaz

    Maximumbaz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't think the "Just" picture aspect works with the JS Tech (I may be wrong) but it works ok with the QED Qsync.
     
  9. samuraijack

    samuraijack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dilemma... the RGB2VGA gets great write ups everywhere but I like having my PC connected to the screen all the time so I can flick to the internet during ad breaks etc.

    I see there is also an RGB to S-video converter, anyone have any experience of these? How would it compare to the quality provided by the RGB2VGA (almost as good? Nowhere near as good?)?

    I already have a Scart cable and a Scart adaptor with S-video connector so maybe this would be a good comprimise.

    Cheers,

    Neil
     
  10. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    You don't lose Just mode on the VGA input on the Panny 6 series, only the Panny 5 series and below...irrespective of which converter you use...

    JJ
     
  11. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    if cost is not a big factor, why not look at a iscan ultra will give better picture, more connections, allow you to keap pc connected.

    you could plug ntl /dvd /pc/ vcr all into your vga port...

    your budget will go up a bit though

    but its an option;) ;)
     
  12. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Agree with jmack, maybe worth a look...maybe time to have a research around the forum for panny connections advice as there is quite a lot on it...

    JJ
     

Share This Page

Loading...