S-Video to 2nd TV

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by DarrenL, Oct 5, 2005.

  1. DarrenL

    DarrenL
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm about to buy a new LCD-TV for the bedroom and want the best picture possible (without having to buy a new box and Sky multiroom).

    I heard the RF2 feed is mono only. Is this true?

    I was thinking that I could use the S-video output through a 10 meter cable whilst at the same time keep the RF input so I can still use the TV-Link.
    Has anyone tried this? Does it sound like a reasonable idea?
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    10m S-video cables are available, but s-video doesn't carry audio.
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975



    Yes.

    As Nick says s-video does not carry audio so how about running a lead from the RCA phonos for stereo as well and the TVlink for remote control?
    A bit cable intensive but if you must have stereo:)

    A wireless videosender will work as well although not as cheap as running a few cables:)
     
  4. DarrenL

    DarrenL
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interesting. Thanks for the help guys.

    How about a 10m scart? (I presume the the 2nd scart socket on the sky+ is RGB)
     
  5. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,346
    Only the TV scart is RGB.
     
  6. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I've never seen a scart cable that long. You'd be far better off with s-video and a stereo sound pair.
     
  7. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    Plenty of scart leads available 10m and over, but only composh*te from VCR scart. Best s-video + stereo audio + RF2 for control (is how I install sometimes).
     
  8. derbyjj

    derbyjj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rainhill
    Ratings:
    +19
    try a video sender
     
  9. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    Will be significantly worse image than running s-video. Saves on laying cables, but at massive cost to PQ.
     
  10. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    i have the solution, done it myself.

    s-video to scart cable, with two phonos. two phonos out from sky + box, s-video out from sky plus box, in to scart coupler. 10 m flat (or round whatever you want) scart to other room and straight into an s-video compatible scart socket (or same thing as other end if has to be s-video) :)

    to summarise

    L audio \
    R audio --->S-V to SCART>Scart>TV
    S-Video /
     
  11. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    and i have to say the S-Video signal produced by Sky+ is phenomenal! even over a 13m run for me, its almost as good as the RGB from normal sky in the same room.
     
  12. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    The one I'd use would be s-video + stereo over cat5 wire. So easy to run, top quality, and the wire is very cheap. The baluns are a bit of a price, but then so is any half decent 10m s-video cable, and that assumes 10m really is enough.
     
  13. DarrenL

    DarrenL
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interesting!

    Have you any advice or url I could follow regarding diy cabling with cat5 and baluns?
     
  14. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice