1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S-Video to 2nd TV

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by DarrenL, Oct 5, 2005.

  1. DarrenL

    DarrenL
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm about to buy a new LCD-TV for the bedroom and want the best picture possible (without having to buy a new box and Sky multiroom).

    I heard the RF2 feed is mono only. Is this true?

    I was thinking that I could use the S-video output through a 10 meter cable whilst at the same time keep the RF input so I can still use the TV-Link.
    Has anyone tried this? Does it sound like a reasonable idea?
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    10m S-video cables are available, but s-video doesn't carry audio.
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979



    Yes.

    As Nick says s-video does not carry audio so how about running a lead from the RCA phonos for stereo as well and the TVlink for remote control?
    A bit cable intensive but if you must have stereo:)

    A wireless videosender will work as well although not as cheap as running a few cables:)
     
  4. DarrenL

    DarrenL
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interesting. Thanks for the help guys.

    How about a 10m scart? (I presume the the 2nd scart socket on the sky+ is RGB)
     
  5. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    19,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,881
    Only the TV scart is RGB.
     
  6. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I've never seen a scart cable that long. You'd be far better off with s-video and a stereo sound pair.
     
  7. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Plenty of scart leads available 10m and over, but only composh*te from VCR scart. Best s-video + stereo audio + RF2 for control (is how I install sometimes).
     
  8. derbyjj

    derbyjj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rainhill
    Ratings:
    +19
    try a video sender
     
  9. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Will be significantly worse image than running s-video. Saves on laying cables, but at massive cost to PQ.
     
  10. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    i have the solution, done it myself.

    s-video to scart cable, with two phonos. two phonos out from sky + box, s-video out from sky plus box, in to scart coupler. 10 m flat (or round whatever you want) scart to other room and straight into an s-video compatible scart socket (or same thing as other end if has to be s-video) :)

    to summarise

    L audio \
    R audio --->S-V to SCART>Scart>TV
    S-Video /
     
  11. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    and i have to say the S-Video signal produced by Sky+ is phenomenal! even over a 13m run for me, its almost as good as the RGB from normal sky in the same room.
     
  12. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    The one I'd use would be s-video + stereo over cat5 wire. So easy to run, top quality, and the wire is very cheap. The baluns are a bit of a price, but then so is any half decent 10m s-video cable, and that assumes 10m really is enough.
     
  13. DarrenL

    DarrenL
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interesting!

    Have you any advice or url I could follow regarding diy cabling with cat5 and baluns?
     
  14. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412

Share This Page

Loading...