1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S-video signal puzzle

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by MAW, Sep 9, 2002.

  1. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    As we all enjoyed pip's problem, perhaps you'd like mine too...
    I have an NTL pace box, set to RGB out, which is connected to a Yam DSPE800 with a scart to s-video lead, not ideal, but it was in the drawer.... Connected back to my nasty TV with s-video, and to my NEC VT440 by s-video, and here comes the problem, I couldn't wait to try it all, so on my way back from work, I passed a Curry's and bought the only 10m s-video cable in the shop, the thickness of a bootlace, plugged it in. It worked instantly, but the picture was not that good. I thought I'd improve it much with a good s-video lead. I had one made at a price that made me wince, remember the hi-fi guys say 10% of your budget on leads.

    Anyway, my new lead gives only a B/W picture. Yes, there's continuity pin to pin, no there's no short circuits. Do you think I'm getting only composite on the other lead, and I'm not getting real s-video from the scart. I can't see how a £10 lead can do the same as £50 worth of electronics. All thoughts welcome, before I start spending money randomly in a process of elimination. If it hadn't been for the previously discussed prob. I'd have bought a RGB/VGA converting lead, I think Keene do one?
     
  2. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,614
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    can you change the output on the NTL box from RGB to either svideo or PAL (composite). I would guess the RGB signal coming from the box can't be translated into an svideo signal properly..
     
  3. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Worth a go, I'll try it tomorrow, get the cable out all over the floor while the kids are at school.
     
  4. Hex

    Hex
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    can I just ask what this problem was?!?

    cheers Hex
     
  5. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I was referring to a previous thread, where the problem was related to a RGB/component lead. here
     

Share This Page

Loading...