S-Video quicky!

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by MikeyB, Apr 24, 2002.

  1. MikeyB

    MikeyB
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Been trying to find out, but not much luck at the mo!

    Does any know that if I connect my DVD player to my TV with an S-Video lead (currently on a Scart, but TV only got 2 scart sockets, and idealy need 4!)

    1) Will the TV auto-switch to the AV channel for the S-Video
    2) Will the TV auto-switch to widescreen throught the S-Video lead?

    Cheers
    Mike
     
  2. jonnyv

    jonnyv
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    2,307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    cant answer the first question..

    but the answer to the second is ..No , it wont auto switch to widescreen...Tried it myself..
     
  3. John Jennings

    John Jennings
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    282
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +5
    Not true. Basically it depends on if your telly will support line23 Widescreen switching. My Philips does no probs. I've got my DVD connected by S-video. Here's da facts for me;

    Question1:
    It won't switch to the correct AV channel. Sorry

    Question2:
    Yes & No...
    1) R2 anamorphic DVDs do autoswitch
    2) R2 non-anamorphic DVDs don't autozoom
    3) R1 discs do not switch (they don't include the line23 WSS. They use a different line (21?), which PAL tellys don't recognise (even if they're NTSC compatible)

    Cheers
    John
     
  4. MikeyB

    MikeyB
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers thanks for the info.
    Might be worth a try then as I have a Philips as well.

    Thanx
     
  5. atmoscinema

    atmoscinema
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +48
    My last Philips 32PW6332 auto switched to S-Video via scart,but I don't think it auto switched into widescreen.

    Does anyone know the reason why some tellies don't switch to S-Video,like my current 32PW6006?

    My 32PW6006 auto switches into widescreen my DVD (RGB and S-Video),NTL digital,SVHS/VHS video,via scart and my Digital 8 Sony camcorder via AV on the side.This is unlike my 32PW6332 which didn't auto switch SVHS/VHS video via scart,or any video via AV.It doesn't,as said above,auto switch widescreen R1 NTSC DVD's.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice