1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S-Video quicky!

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by MikeyB, Apr 24, 2002.

  1. MikeyB

    MikeyB
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Been trying to find out, but not much luck at the mo!

    Does any know that if I connect my DVD player to my TV with an S-Video lead (currently on a Scart, but TV only got 2 scart sockets, and idealy need 4!)

    1) Will the TV auto-switch to the AV channel for the S-Video
    2) Will the TV auto-switch to widescreen throught the S-Video lead?

    Cheers
    Mike
     
  2. jonnyv

    jonnyv
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    2,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +41
    cant answer the first question..

    but the answer to the second is ..No , it wont auto switch to widescreen...Tried it myself..
     
  3. John Jennings

    John Jennings
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    282
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +5
    Not true. Basically it depends on if your telly will support line23 Widescreen switching. My Philips does no probs. I've got my DVD connected by S-video. Here's da facts for me;

    Question1:
    It won't switch to the correct AV channel. Sorry

    Question2:
    Yes & No...
    1) R2 anamorphic DVDs do autoswitch
    2) R2 non-anamorphic DVDs don't autozoom
    3) R1 discs do not switch (they don't include the line23 WSS. They use a different line (21?), which PAL tellys don't recognise (even if they're NTSC compatible)

    Cheers
    John
     
  4. MikeyB

    MikeyB
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers thanks for the info.
    Might be worth a try then as I have a Philips as well.

    Thanx
     
  5. Wayne Moule

    Wayne Moule
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    1,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +32
    My last Philips 32PW6332 auto switched to S-Video via scart,but I don't think it auto switched into widescreen.

    Does anyone know the reason why some tellies don't switch to S-Video,like my current 32PW6006?

    My 32PW6006 auto switches into widescreen my DVD (RGB and S-Video),NTL digital,SVHS/VHS video,via scart and my Digital 8 Sony camcorder via AV on the side.This is unlike my 32PW6332 which didn't auto switch SVHS/VHS video via scart,or any video via AV.It doesn't,as said above,auto switch widescreen R1 NTSC DVD's.
     

Share This Page

Loading...