1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S-Video on Sony KV28FQ70

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by eeper, Feb 11, 2004.

  1. eeper

    eeper
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    I'm trying to input an S-video signal from my DVD player (Sony DAVS-880, no RGB) into my TV. The instruction manual states that the AV3 port will accept an S-Video signal.

    I purchased a S-video to Scart lead, plugged it in and the picture came out black and white. I know the player is outputting correctly because when I plugged it into the front S-video port (AV4) the picture was fine.

    Whats going on? Is the cable at fault or do I have to adjust my telly?

    Many thanks.
     
  2. StevieDvd

    StevieDvd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Stevenage, Herts
    Ratings:
    +151
    Not 100% sure but if you have an option to cycle through the AV connections on the tv remote you should find one that is OK.

    Same happens on my Panasonic.

    Steve
     
  3. eeper

    eeper
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, thought of that, but the A/V button only seems to cycle through the various ports (AV1, AV2 etc.) I will have another look to make sure though - thanks.

    :hiya:

    Does anyone actually own the tv or its bigger brother who could let me know what to do.
     
  4. PaulJ

    PaulJ
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi There,

    I have the FQ70 and a Sony DAVS550.

    When i got these I purchased a Monster S-Video to Scart.

    I have this from the DVD player to AV3 and have had no problems, the only thing I can think of, is making sure that AV3 is set to S-Video.

    Hope this helps. :rolleyes:
     
  5. fatbob

    fatbob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    267
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Eeper,

    Are you using a PAL or an NTSC disk?

    If the dvd you're using is region 1 NTSC, then the problem on this thread could help you.
     
  6. eeper

    eeper
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks folks.

    I plugged it all up again yesterday and it mysteriously started to work!! No changes, just plug and un-plug. Go figure...

    :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...