1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S-video into plasma

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by neilbutler, Aug 31, 2005.

  1. neilbutler

    neilbutler
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good Morning all, This is my 1st post on here for a while so ease me in gently ;)

    My current setup is: Sony Vega 32" CRT, Sky+, Xbox, Pioneer DVD all switched (audio and video) through a Pioneer Receiver that switches S-Video. I also have a scart to s-video convertor box (for sky) and an s-video splitter, to allow me to feed the projector (PTAE-200) :eek:

    still with me?

    My plan is to swap the crt for a plasma, I have about 1500 to spend (preferably including wall bracket).

    I have 3 questions if you would be so kind:

    1) Can I feed a plasma s-video (some have S-video connections) or is this instant picture death? (ie do I need to upgrade my receiver to switch component and have component upscaling)

    2) the old which is the best for the money question (I'd like a 42")

    3) I've read on here that heat will kill my plasma so will a shelf above the radiator in the lounge suffice?

    Many thanks for your patience and advice
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    1. Yes you can, instant death certainly not, it may not be the best, but it's often surprisingly good. Ideally you could change your amp, but maybe 1 step at a time? You could 'upgrade' to component switching and splitting later with no more cost than doing it now.
    2. Ha, the answer here is the one you like best, see it run on S-video, some handle the signal better than others. Try a PWD8, it comes with an s-video board.
    3. We do this lots of times, it's fine.
     
  3. neilbutler

    neilbutler
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the quick reply MAW. Where would you suggest viewing any DVD on S-video? most retailers I have visited thus far (Comet,Currys,TTC Coventry) only seem to feed their screens a composite signal :retch:)

    Asking them to see it on S-video (or component for that matter) gives a response as if I had asked to sleep with their sister in the shop!!!
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Is their sister not willing? Dunno where you are, might be able to suggest somewhere for you, that will offer this kind of thing, no not the sister...
     
  5. neilbutler

    neilbutler
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nr Coventry.
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Dunno if Piers would help you out, he's the nearest I know of who'd take any time and trouble over you, Telford I believe. That's a fair way mind you. home cinema engineering. I think he'd sell you a screen if he could.
     
  7. neilbutler

    neilbutler
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wouldnt mind tripping over there, and if he's competetive within reason I'd definately consider buying from him.
     
  8. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
  9. neilbutler

    neilbutler
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks :thumbsup:
     
  10. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I used to feed my plasma with s-video, because that's what my Yamaha AV amp outputted. I've since upgraded the amp to another Yamaha which up-converts everything to component, and it's marginally better, but not amazingly so.
     
  11. neilbutler

    neilbutler
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Nick_uk thats good to know.
     
  12. bowler

    bowler
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I use s video from my freeview box to my Hitachi plasma - it provides an excellent picture.
     

Share This Page

Loading...