S-VIDEO Connection on Sanyo Z2.

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Scotty12, Apr 7, 2004.

1. Scotty12

Scotty12
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, Here goes. Now that I have decided on getting a Z2 for my first projector, I would like to ask for some information on connectivity.

My DVD Player has only has RGB SCART & NTL Box is also RGB SCART out.

To connect up to the PJ, I am thinking of :

DVD : RGB SCART -> S-VIDEO on amp
    NTL Box : RGB SCART -> S-VIDEO on amp
    AMP : S-VIDEO -> S-VIDEO on PJ

I don't know if this is the best way to connect, I am not a very good connection's guy!!

Is this a viable way to connect, or is there better?.

2. krlock

krlock

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmmm... im also not an expert, but if you are gonna get the z2, you should treat it to a half decent dvd player.... with at least a dedicated s-video socket, and preferably component video, which i assume your amp could take??

remember, that you wont be looking at a 21inch crt anymore......

good luck, im sure whatever you do, you will enjoy your z2!!!!!!!!!!!!!

well done for taking the plunge!!

krlock

3. KraGorn

KraGorn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    I agree with krlock, you'd be far better off investing something like £150 on a decent but cheap DVD player, something like a Sony 730, which can feed component into the Z2 .. or a cheap DVI-equipped one like a Samsung, only trouble with those is that none are distributed in this country AFAIK, you'd need to import.

Using S-Video on the Z2 would be a real waste .. your alternative would be to get an RGB->Component converter but that'll cost a good part of the price of a 730 or similar.

Plug the NTL box and the DVD player into the PJ and use the remote to select source.

4. G a f f e r

G a f f e r

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +632