1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S Video Black and White.

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by r.vernon1, May 5, 2002.

  1. r.vernon1

    r.vernon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,284
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +127
    Hi,

    Tried using svideo from my Samsung 709 to my Toshiba 40PW13B, and the picture is black and white. Tried changing the out of the dvd player to s video as the scart output. Still the same. It is black and white on the setup screen so I can't be anything to do with dvds. Also just using a standard s video cable. Any ideas?

    Rob
     
  2. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    What AV socket have you got the DVD player attached to? Usually AV1 will be for RGB/Composite so try AV2 or AV3. If this doesn't solve the problem, are you using a fully wired Scart Lead? Lastly, you may need to specify S-Video on one of the AV Inputs via the TV's AV setup menu.
     
  3. r.vernon1

    r.vernon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,284
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +127
    The dvd player normally is on av2 attached by normal scart, however, I now have it on the svideo connector on my tele, via an svideo cable, it came with the dvd player so I assume its okay. It shows up on av3. But b & w?. Does that explain it better?

    Rob
     
  4. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Try hitting the AV Input Mode button once more when on the B&W picture. AV3 shares a composite/S-Video connection. You should be looking for something like AV3 S or AVS as an on screen symbol.
     
  5. fuzzybee

    fuzzybee
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Chesterfield town of the crooked (Spire)
    Ratings:
    +72
    Easy answer is go into your menu and select feature menu then AV connection go to ext3 input I bet you a pound to a penny this is set to AV just switch it to S-Video.
    Your picture should now be in colour

    Hope this helps:confused: :confused: ;)
     
  6. r.vernon1

    r.vernon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,284
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +127
    cheers m8, i knew it would be something simple, but guessed I over looked the obvious!!!

    Thanks again

    Rob
     

Share This Page

Loading...