S Video Black and White.

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by r.vernon1, May 5, 2002.

  1. r.vernon1

    r.vernon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +126
    Hi,

    Tried using svideo from my Samsung 709 to my Toshiba 40PW13B, and the picture is black and white. Tried changing the out of the dvd player to s video as the scart output. Still the same. It is black and white on the setup screen so I can't be anything to do with dvds. Also just using a standard s video cable. Any ideas?

    Rob
     
  2. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,554
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    What AV socket have you got the DVD player attached to? Usually AV1 will be for RGB/Composite so try AV2 or AV3. If this doesn't solve the problem, are you using a fully wired Scart Lead? Lastly, you may need to specify S-Video on one of the AV Inputs via the TV's AV setup menu.
     
  3. r.vernon1

    r.vernon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +126
    The dvd player normally is on av2 attached by normal scart, however, I now have it on the svideo connector on my tele, via an svideo cable, it came with the dvd player so I assume its okay. It shows up on av3. But b & w?. Does that explain it better?

    Rob
     
  4. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,554
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Try hitting the AV Input Mode button once more when on the B&W picture. AV3 shares a composite/S-Video connection. You should be looking for something like AV3 S or AVS as an on screen symbol.
     
  5. fuzzybee

    fuzzybee
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Chesterfield town of the crooked (Spire)
    Ratings:
    +72
    Easy answer is go into your menu and select feature menu then AV connection go to ext3 input I bet you a pound to a penny this is set to AV just switch it to S-Video.
    Your picture should now be in colour

    Hope this helps:confused: :confused: ;)
     
  6. r.vernon1

    r.vernon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +126
    cheers m8, i knew it would be something simple, but guessed I over looked the obvious!!!

    Thanks again

    Rob
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice