1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S-Video 4 pin & 7 pin confusion

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by JonathanKnight, Feb 3, 2004.

  1. JonathanKnight

    JonathanKnight
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looking at the manual for a Radeon card the picture looks like the Radeon has a 7pin S-Video socket for TV out. My TV has an S-Video socket which takes 4 pins. I am assuming the Radeon just has some extra pins that are not used and a 4 pin S-Video cable will work between the card and my TV.

    I have not got the card yet so I want to make sure.
     
  2. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    my r9500 has that socket. Its for an adaptor so you can plug in a composite lead. If you want s-video, you just take the adaptor out and plug the lead straight in:)
     
  3. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    the 7pin svideo socket is used for RGB Scart Tv-out, which ATI never enabled
     
  4. JonathanKnight

    JonathanKnight
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks very much, that has made things clearer.
     
  5. NaTT

    NaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +77
    Never enabled! Anyone rumors? any chances of this being enabled in the future or with a patch??
     
  6. apul

    apul
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +19
  7. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    This may, or may not, be true for specific ATI cards - I've no idea - but tons of graphics cards have a 7-pin connector for S-video out. Ergo, there must be some other general reason.

    There's a fine thread discussing Radeon -> Scart connection elsewhere in this forum.

    Mike.
     
  8. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    SVIDEO can be outputted on three different connectors per standard, 4 pin mini din, 7 pin mini din and BNCs. All are acceptable standards. Guess which one I like :)
     
  9. spamboy

    spamboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    its definatly for RGB, as you can patch the bios of the card to enable it.
     
  11. life sucks

    life sucks
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I even saw it once over 2 rca connectors. people get strange ideas
     
  12. NapoleonGuitarSolo

    NapoleonGuitarSolo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2000
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Shropshire, England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Any URL's where you can get the bios to enable rgb from s-video
    or clues as to the bios versions we should be looking for?
     

Share This Page

Loading...