Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

S-VHS signal from SCART socket?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Darren Blake, Jul 15, 2003.

  1. Darren Blake

    Darren Blake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich, UK.
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hi all.

    Not really an aplifier question, but it is driven by my intention to connect all my video sources to my Denon 1803 using s-vhs.

    Both my Sony VCR and Grundig Sky box have SCART output only. I was planning to use a Maplin SCART to s-video adaptor to extract an s-vhs signal from both. However, I have just learned that not all SCART sockets are wired for s-video support.

    I have put a question in the General Hardware forum asking for advice on whether the Maplins products I have chosen will do the job, but in case they are pass-through only, what are the chances my VCR and Sky box will have s-vhs compatible SCART sockets?

    I only ask because I cannot physically get to my gear to check this until Thursday, and it is on my mind! Plus my Denon 1803 came in today and as it was a special order they won't take it back if I can't get it to talk to my equipment...
     
  2. dmach22

    dmach22
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    N. Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    Darren,
    Unless your vcr and digibox can output a s-video signal I'm afraid that this box will be of no use. Most vcr's only output a composite signal through the scart output, unless they are a svhs vcr.
     
  3. Darren Blake

    Darren Blake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich, UK.
    Ratings:
    +15
    Thanks for the reply. This was pretty much what I was assuming would be the problem. Hopefully both SCARTs will be s-video wired, but I'm not going to bet any money on it.

    All may not be lost, though. Having already bought the box from Maplin, maybe I can use one of their composite to s-video converters to change the source to s-video?

    See this thread from "General Hardware"

    I'm having to go to all this trouble because I would rather switch all my video sources through s-video than have to run yet another 5m feed to the screen for composite.

    Regards,
     
  4. roversd1

    roversd1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chord Co. do nice Scart - S-Video cables for around £40. Carefull how you chose you scart leads because some come with very heavy connectors that tend to fall out...

    If your Grundig / TV does RGB, hook it up direct via scart to scart for the best picture.

    There are also many good respectable RGB to S-Video converters around from about £25
     
  5. Darren Blake

    Darren Blake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich, UK.
    Ratings:
    +15
    Can you point me at a website or shop? The only ones I can find are in the £100 bracket.
     
  6. roversd1

    roversd1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is probably a silly question so just ignore it if you think so!

    Have you checked the back of your digibox? Most of the Grundigs have s-video out sockets next to the av outs.

    DaveP
     
  8. Darren Blake

    Darren Blake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich, UK.
    Ratings:
    +15
    I am 99.99% sure that mine has not (but I shall kick myself if it does). I'll check again tonight.

    Depending on whether my 1803 can switch a composite sync signal to accompany RGB, I may change to RGB for my SKY and DVD interconnects.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice