1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S/PDIF or TOSlink inputs on Panasonic SCHT870?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by JZEE, Jan 21, 2005.

  1. JZEE

    JZEE
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I am considering purchasing the Panasonic SCHT870 all-in-one system.

    Now I already have a Samsung DVD-HD935 DCD player which has S/PDIF and TOSlink digital audio outputs. My question is, does the SCHT870 have these types of inputs? On the Panasonic website, it states that it has got "Audio Input" however I don't have any more details whether it is a normal analogue stereo input or an analogue 5.1 input. Any ideas???

    Thanks.
     
  2. JZEE

    JZEE
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    The fact that it hasn't got digital inputs is understood. What I am asking is whether it's got any anaolgue inputs that are 5.1 (not stereo).

    As for NTSC, I will not really use it for DVD playback since I already have the Samsung DVD (as stated).
     
  3. Anthall

    Anthall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +4
    I would also like to know if it's possible to link a dvd player
    to this system to use it's amp, speakers etc. (maintaining 5.1 surround) ??

    If anyone knows, please let us know.

    Cheers
     
  4. JZEE

    JZEE
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Anyone????
     
  5. Anthall

    Anthall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yeah anyone?

    It's just that i have a dvd recorder video combo,
    I think i will need to use the VCR Audio in line on the
    'All in one' - but i believe this will then just provide
    analogue, stereo sound.

    Is that correct.

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...