Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

S/Pdif on Asus A7V8X

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by pcpaz, Jan 9, 2003.

  1. pcpaz

    pcpaz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am looking at buying a new sound card to improve the quality. I am currently using the onboard card on the Asus A7V8X m/board.

    The m/board came with some kind of S/pdif attachment with gold output connectors. Am I right in thinking if I attach this to the m/board and then use the output from the s/pdif to my amp this will improve sound quality, or should I just get a new soundcard?
     
  2. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    I have just used the "spdif attachment" that came with the A7v8x which is my desktop machine and attached it in the A7V333 that I use in my HTPC so this is nearly what your asking.

    I think that the quality is okay and compares to other cheaper sound cards that I've tried, I dont think there will be any massive difference using any of the mifrange cards if you are just using the spdif out.
     
  3. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +263
    There MAY actually be an advantage in using an onboard sound solution if it bypasses the PCI bus, it COULD lead to smoother DVD playback. Just a theory, my new P4 mobo has onboard spdif for me to play with.
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    I'vew been thinking about that exact issue. Just got 4 new PC's for work, 1 of which will double as a media machine, run a plasma display and audio. I have stuck with the motherboard spdif for the minute, on the basis that I have USB for an instant upgrade if it's terrible, and can later install a card. Eventually they keep threatening to put a whole PC on one chip, giving us no choice in this, so it might be as well to get used to the idea.
     
  5. pcpaz

    pcpaz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I take it you just connect the s/pdif to the m/board and then connect a single rca cable from the s/pdif output to the s/pdif input on the back of the amp. I'm just guessing here as I don't have a amp at the moment.
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Spot on, are you building the pc? It should be connected or more probably part of the PCB internally already. It'll probably be a 3.5mm jack externally, which you will need to make up a lead for.
     
  7. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Yes, spot on;) If your using XP the drivers will be automatically loaded if a clean install as they are standard Cmedia ones.

    No just to clarify its a standard coaxial socket so takes a 75ohm coaxial cable.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice