rx-v357 - Dolby mode query

G

garybaldi

Hi,

I'm a bit of a newbie to AV receivers and surround/home cinema set-ups etc. Wonder if someone can answer some questions for me/give me some advise.

I have just bought a Yamaha rx-v357 (AV 57 pack)..

I have it connected to a Sony DVD player via digital coax (it supports Dolby Digital and DTS and is currently set to output surround sound).

The AV receiver is currently set to an automatic mode where it detects the signal being received and sets the surround mode accordingly.

I have tried DVDs with DTS and dolby digital and the receiver sets the mode to PCM and will only let me select Pro Logic, Pro logic enhanced, pro logic II etc. There is a button to set it manually to DTS but no sound is then heard (manual states this will happen if no DTS signal is being received). There is also a button to set 5.1 or matrix 6.1, when pressing this it is set to Auto or off... Auto is the setting being used but will not change the mode.

I have checked the manual and there are indicator lights/symbols for Digital and DTS but these never show/I'm unable to select the mode.

Is it something I'm doing wrong? Am I correct in assuming if playing a DTS/digital DVD and it is set to auto it should detect this and select that mode? Or at least let me select it manually?

I have also tried this on my Playstation 2 connected with an Optical cable and the results are the same.. Multiple films tried and also tried some PS2 games..

What am I missing?

(Sorry for the long post)..

Thanks,
Gary.

G

garybaldi

Sorry,

I have inly just gone and found yet more options on the DVD player... namely those for DTS being off and Digital being set to PCM...

Only question that leaves is about the PS2... Optical is set to on and surround is on.. I guess there's more settings there too!!

See I told ya... Newbie..

Gary..

Knyght_byte