1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running DVD backups from Hard Disc with TT

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by sneaky, Jan 25, 2004.

  1. sneaky

    sneaky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want to Backup all of my DVD collection to HDD and run them from there through DVD Lobby.

    I have backed on up using DVDCrypter. How do I run the the movie with TT from the HDD.

    Thanks
     
  2. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,154
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +1,956
    If it's not (yet) possible, you could install Zoomplayer and use TTs Sonic filters for the same audi/video quality, and you can then playback any media files you like.

    Alternatively, PowerDVD XP and 5 will do that for you.

    Gary.
     
  3. sneaky

    sneaky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Gary,

    I have sussed it out. All you have to is subst a drive to the movie directory and start TT and away you go.

    That will do for now until I have a go with MainLobby. Had a quick look at ML, seems good but I have no literature and seems a little tricky. Can't believe I said that I program SQL databases in my real life.

    Thanks
     
  4. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    The SUBST method works as you have discovered, however there are easier ways :) ... have a read of this guide to TT's command-line arugments, you can set up shortcuts or if you have a read you may find how to create registry entries to allow you simply to double-click.

    Certainly one of TT's weaknesses compated to PDVD for example is you can't simply File | Open. (
     
  5. sneaky

    sneaky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers Kragorn,

    I guess I will have to use some of this stuff with Main/DVD Lobby.

    Chris
     
  6. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    I took a look at ML some time back and decided it was all too much hassle for me :) ... I didn't really need it as I use Alcohol to mount ripped ISO images so with auto-play I simply mount the image and TT gets started automatically. But ML probably is easier than that if you invest the time to learn it.
     
  7. sneaky

    sneaky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +0
    I need it all to just go after I have set it up. My wife will want to use the system, so the front end needs to be easy for both DVD and Music.
     
  8. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Methinks you need a Mac then ... M$ don't engineer Windows to 'just go'. :D
     
  9. MarkHudds

    MarkHudds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Simply associate IFO files with TT.

    Double click the VIDEO_TS.IFO to start the dvd on HD.
     
  10. Baggy

    Baggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Burton-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +126
    I use MyHTPC with TT for playing direct from the HD and it's real easy.
     
  11. Mr THX

    Mr THX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +31
    Have to agree once fully set up myHTPC is superb. One click on cover art lets you play both Music and DVD's. Looks excellent as well having Album/DVD covers to browse through before choosing which one to play.
     

Share This Page

Loading...