1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running Co-Ax behind plaster board

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by TheSeer, Jan 24, 2004.

  1. TheSeer

    TheSeer
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hello,

    Moved into a new-build house about a year ago. Unfortunately, the builders have run in some cheap coaxial cable to the various different rooms from the loft.

    Is there relatively easy way to replace these cable runs with good quality stuff, without having to tear up plaster board walls etc.

    Thanks
     
  2. smeghead

    smeghead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    KENT
    Ratings:
    +3
    If the walls have been drylined with plasterboard you might have a problem as the plasterboard is stuck to the wall.
    you will find it should have a solid row of adhesive along the ceiling line,down the edge of corners and along the floor for the skirting to fix to and around the sockets.
    If you give the wall a tap around the sockets etc with a hammer(a light tap don't go mad) if there is nothing behind it should sound hollow.
    you never know you might be lucky and find a gap.
    then you might be able to use the old cable as a draw cord.
    good luck fishing for cables.
    Dean
     
  3. STOWITBELOW

    STOWITBELOW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,578
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +49
    Tug at one end of the old coax. if it moves at the other end (Two people or long arms required) use it as a draw cord as Smeghead says. Take care connecting new to old though. It would be iritating to pull it halfway through & it gets stuck & becomes detatched. If no movement there is no easy way )-:
     
  4. patmyhead

    patmyhead
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I o M
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have you thought about a video sender?
    bonus is that you get control of your equipment from other rooms
    + some send a stero signal as well
    P@T
     
  5. installer09

    installer09
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SWINDON ,WILTS
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do this kind of thing for a living , I always drop new cables down the cavity , as long as they are not insulated .
     
  6. TheSeer

    TheSeer
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hello installer09

    Thanks for replying (and everyone else). Seeing as you do this for a living, any idea roughly how much it might cost to get this done by a pro?

    Thanks
     
  7. installer09

    installer09
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SWINDON ,WILTS
    Ratings:
    +0
    Depends on the construction really , probably about £80 per run , try STOWITBELOW's advice first , most new build houses , esspecially tv points to upstairs can be done this way.
     

Share This Page

Loading...