Question Ruipro hybrid or other

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Gazaman, Mar 13, 2019 at 1:33 PM.

  1. Gazaman

    Gazaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +172
    Hi folks, I’m about to pull the trigger on a 10m ruipro hybrid to feed through the ceiling of my new home. I don’t currently have the need for 4K or have anything even capable but as it’s going in the wall it’s best to futureproof right!?!
    Now I’ve looked through threads on here and the ruipro seems favourite for longer runs but they are also quite pricey. For a 10m run is this actually required or is it over kill.
    Another question that I haven’t been able to find the answer to is....if it’s a faulty cable would it just not work full stop?or could it potentially transfer 1080p and not 4K? I don’t want to test it with my kit now, feed it through the wall then discover in 6 months time that 4K fails.

    Thanks
    Gaz
     
  2. mushii

    mushii
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Stoke On Trent
    Ratings:
    +1,082
    Can you not run it in a duct ?
     
  3. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,464
    At 10m you are beyond where you can rely on a Standard copper cable for 4K UHD.

    Each RuiPro Hybrid Fibre cable we ship is pre tested in a system running SKY Q and ATV 4K to ensure we know they work when we ship them.

    Ensure you install the correct way around - the ends are marked.

    As mushii suggests it is a good option to run within a conduit if you are worried about damaging any cable when works are going on.

    A failed or damaged cable will simply stop working - no matter what signal format you are transferring so always have a Plan B.

    Joe
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • List
  4. Gazaman

    Gazaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +172
    It’s a new build property and I’ve asked for the cable to be run at the time of all electrics etc so I guess it’s how far they are prepared to go for me. I’ll ask them if it’s possible to put some conduit up the wall and into the ceiling then. They can only say no I suppose.
    Is there any discount code for avf members?
    Cheers
    Gaz
     
  5. mushii

    mushii
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Stoke On Trent
    Ratings:
    +1,082
    Yes it was called the advice :) Consultation normally runs at £100 an hour. You will not be charged for the normal first 30 minutes. Enjoy
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  6. Gazaman

    Gazaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +172
    Yeah nice one, appreciate your reply.
    I’ve seen other sponsors offer discounts so thought I may as well ask before placing my order and finding out after :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
     
  7. mushii

    mushii
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Stoke On Trent
    Ratings:
    +1,082
    Never hurts to ask, although the sign in my local pub said otherwise....

    PLEASE DO NOT ASK FOR CREDIT, AS A SMACK IN THE MOUTH OFTEN OFFENDS !!!
     
  8. MikeHoy

    MikeHoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +46
    I can recommend the cable (I have the 10M) and Joe's service.
     
  9. Gazaman

    Gazaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +172
    Not asking for credit bud. Just asking if there was a forum discount code as it’s very common for forums sponsors to offer a members discount. Yes or no wouldn’t have made a difference to my decision but thought I’d ask.
    So maybe get yourself a ladder and get down off that horse of yours :smashin:

    Thanks Joe for your helpful and informative answer. Cable ordered.
    Thanks again
    Gaz
     
  10. mushii

    mushii
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Stoke On Trent
    Ratings:
    +1,082
    @Gazaman it was said in jest, the reference was not aimed at you but an anecdotal quote that is often seen behind bars of local pubs. I am not sure why you think I was on a high horse. My advice here has always been given non-judgmentally and I try not to to belittle or embarass people no matter what the level of experience or the nature of the question, if you read any of my threads or responses.

    Having had experience of actually just installing a 10m Ruipro in a conduit, in new build, I was going to try and provide you with some further helpful advice, but as you seem to have taken exception to my postings, i will bid you good luck with your install and leave it there.
     
  11. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,464
    Hello all

    No harm in asking :)

    mushii has some great advice and first hand experience with installing the RuiPro cables.

    Too easy to get 'caught up' in online Forums - hopefully we can all continue to support each other.

    Joe
     
  12. mushii

    mushii
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Stoke On Trent
    Ratings:
    +1,082
    Cheers @Joe Fernand, I guess sometimes posts get read not the way they were intended. Certainly no harm intended here.
     
  13. mushii

    mushii
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Stoke On Trent
    Ratings:
    +1,082
    @Gazaman is the run going to be a straight single run or will it need a bend in it? Depending on which I can recommend the diameter of conduit that you can use.
     
  14. Gazaman

    Gazaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +172
    Apologies if I misinterpreted your replies mate.
    It was a genuine question and I wasn’t expecting any special personal discounts or anything, just wondered if there was any forum discounts to try and make my confession to the Mrs a bit easier o_O:D.
     
  15. mushii

    mushii
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Stoke On Trent
    Ratings:
    +1,082
    I installed mine through 6 x 90 degree (wide radius) bends. Very convoluted but managed it. I used a 38mm flexible cable duct from a company called Hilltop who specialise in flexible conduit. It took 3 hours in total and a lot of patience. I had to go through the centre of an 8m long RSJ. I have to say the product does exactly what it is supposed to.

    BTW I didn’t tell SWMBO it would only have resulted in more shoes.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  16. Gazaman

    Gazaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +172
    Mine will basically enter at low level where my kit is then up the wall to a 90 degree bend where it will the travel the length of the room to the projector. I’m hoping the sparky can do it for us before we move in but I’m still waiting for an answer back from them.
     
  17. mushii

    mushii
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Stoke On Trent
    Ratings:
    +1,082
    If it were my install I’d run it in conduit if I could. If not I’d at least run it in the wall in 25mm od conduit and then just run it unclipped to the PJ and out of a brush plate. That way if you have to replace it, it will mean cutting a single access hole in the ceiling by the wall to feed a new one in. Easily patched in 10 mins. Just make sure that the spark doesn’t clip it. Alternatively run it in the ceiling in 25mm conduit but don’t connect the vertical and horizontal. You will still need to cut a hole but it will be mostly protected. The cable is very thin and very flexible.

    BTW dimensions of the plug can be found here

    RuiPro Hybrid Fibre Optic HDMI cable - The Media Factory

    PS Joe there is a typo in the Description - Rupio
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2019 at 11:11 PM
  18. Gazaman

    Gazaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +172
    @mushii ive never installed using conduit before but I think that’s the way I’m gonna go. Does the conduit just lay in the ceiling and drop in the wall or is it clipped or held in any way? Also if I do as you say above and have either conduit in just the wall or both the wall and ceiling, do you think the 90 degree bend would be too much to drag it out hence your having to cut an access hole comment if needed?
    Cheers for your help
    Gaz
     
  19. mushii

    mushii
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Stoke On Trent
    Ratings:
    +1,082
    The conduit will be clipped to the wall (behind the plaster board) and will be clipped to a joist. The bend radii are huge 60 - 70 cm min and you would need to use much larger diameter conduit. I had to chase my block work to get my 38mm duct in. The hole will be needed if you have to reinstall a new cable (unlikely in the short term but all electronics eventually fail) just to thread between the two conduits.
    It should take your spark no more than 30 minutes to fix it for you.
     
  20. Gazaman

    Gazaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +172
    Ok thanks mate. I’m just hoping they agree to do this for me pre plasterboarding as I’m guessing something like this would be an absolute nightmare after.
     
  21. MikeHoy

    MikeHoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +46
    Make sure you run some draw string through as well so you can pull the cable back and pull the new one through if the cable fails.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  22. mushii

    mushii
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Stoke On Trent
    Ratings:
    +1,082
    If the two conduits are not joined a single draw-string / cable will not work, but two separate draw cables maybe useful.
     
  23. Gazaman

    Gazaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +172
    Ah right, I just assumed it would be best attach a cord to the cable when removing it and then use this cord to pull through the new one!?
     
  24. mushii

    mushii
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Stoke On Trent
    Ratings:
    +1,082
    You can also do that, then just feed between the two conduits via the cut access hole.
     
  25. Gazaman

    Gazaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +172
    @mushii did you say yours was a new build? Did their contractors do it for you or did they allow your own input pre-completion?
     
  26. mushii

    mushii
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Stoke On Trent
    Ratings:
    +1,082
    It was a 30m2 extension on my kitchen. Effectively new build. I did it myself as I used to have an AV / Custom Install business do have done a lot of this kind of install. Although flexible conduit was a challenge with 6 bends.
     
  27. mushii

    mushii
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Stoke On Trent
    Ratings:
    +1,082
    05BC44F6-A589-4227-B8ED-033F3BB6CFBF.jpeg BF53313D-C38C-4B44-903F-AFC4F08142B2.jpeg 79220D2A-A5F7-4099-83CA-7E0696C0B85C.jpeg 84E97A16-73AF-4FB9-8226-3689DB3121CA.jpeg 8EA489F5-8C1B-4922-9D2F-24461A15315E.jpeg 338E5BE7-CB38-4CBE-938F-05A2283C4608.jpeg 9D4A7B5A-734F-4662-8DEF-D358028EBA1B.jpeg 98208996-13C8-4308-B16E-4662BCD60B06.jpeg
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 15, 2019 at 8:46 AM
  28. Gazaman

    Gazaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +172
    Ah I see. Good job mate . This isn’t really my comfort zone so maybe something obvious but can I ask what the extra batons of wood are for that are effectively bringing the ceiling lower?
    Also, I expected the cable to come coiled up in a large Jiffy bag not a huge box like that
    Sorry to be a pain
    Gaz
     
  29. mushii

    mushii
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Stoke On Trent
    Ratings:
    +1,082
    The joists were battened to allow the existing ceiling joists, which were a little un-even and the new joists to sit at the same level so that I had a perfectly flush ceiling when the plasterboard was screwed on. Because my RSJ was pushed into my ceiling and was deeper than the RSJ that was removed it meant that it sat lower than the existing joists. Each of the battens for the existing ceiling were hand-cut as they were all differing thicknesses. All of the new ceiling battens were the same thickness.

    Not a pain at all. The box is about 20cm square and 4cm thick it is a truly excellent and quality product.

    When I pulled it I used a single 1mm cable off a reel (that was split from a 2 x 1mm figure 8 cable). I wrapped the plug of the Ruipro in some polythene (Tesco carrier off-cut) and then taped it with electrical tape. I then carefully taped the plug to the puller wire and taped the ruipro cable itself at 10cm intervals (3 times) also to the puller cable, to relieve any strain on the plug / cable joint. This meant if the Ruipro snagged or dragged (which it did) the plug was not taking all of the strain. Finally it was pulled using plenty of washing up liquid (as a lubricant) coating the entire Ruipro as I pulled it. There is a massive amount of friction over 10m of flexible conduit. It was a very long and slow pull but it was done successfully with no damage and a perfectly working cable.
     
  30. mushii

    mushii
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Stoke On Trent
    Ratings:
    +1,082
    1EBD783C-A217-48C4-994D-EE43429C478F.jpeg 5F1F49F6-42E8-466F-BF73-75AA345BAFA7.jpeg BCA2EC08-A0A1-47C7-9BF3-8CB742216066.jpeg 60D2EA17-2E41-494A-AACD-ECDB458B39EE.jpeg

    Excuse the TV, its my test TV and will be replaced with a new 49" 4k when the kitchen is finished. I just use it to make sure that all of my connections work.

    I also only have 2 of my 4 MA C165s installed. I wanted to see how effective two were, before adding two more. My little BK Gemini Sub also connects to my amp via a sub cable pulled through the same conduit.

    You can see the larder unit in place where my AV amp lives, that is where one end of my ruipro is, the other end comes out behind the brush-plates behind the TV. The area above the larder units is going to be framed and plastered, so you wont see any of the cabling.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2019 at 8:42 AM

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice